Skip to main content

Ancient Art and Archaeology *: Find Book Reviews

Guide to ancient Greek and Roman art and archaeology resources

Book Review Sources

Book reviews are an excellent way to stay current on recent publications.  The following databases are particularly useful for finding reviews of books on ancient art and archaeology.

OmniFile Full-Text Mega (Art Full-Text) and Art Index Retrospective
Check OmniFile, then select Art under the subject area in lower right.
Art Full-Text contains complete indexing and abstracting, and the full-text of some art journals, from 1985 through the present.
Art Index Retrospective covers 55 years
(1929-1984) of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe.
OmniFile is a multidisciplinary database with records beginning in 1982 (use the various "retro" subindices for records prior to 1982)

After selecting one or more databases to search and have entered your search term(s), use the drop-down menu by Document Type to choose "Book Review."


Individual Book Review Sources

There are several online sources devoted specifically to book reviews.

Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR)

  • Publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology)
  • An archive of BMCR's publications is available from 1990 to the present
  • Subscription to on-going journal is free
    • Subscribe here to receive book reviews via email
    • RSS feed also available

The Classical Review

  • Publishes informative reviews from leading scholars on new work covering the literatures and civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome
  • Full-text available from 1998 to date online via Cambridge Journals Online
    • RSS feed also available via Cambridge Journals Online, see right hand column (you will need to set up a username and password, but it's free)
  • Full-text available from 1887 through 2004 via JSTOR

H-Net Reviews

  • Scholarly reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences, beginning in the 1990s, although there are a few earlier ones
  • You may subscribe to the Reviews section, and there is also a wide variety of discussion networks to which you may subscribe

Scholia Reviews

  • Review articles and reviews beginning in 1992
  • Subscription is free and without restrictions
  • Can be slow to load

Subject Guide

John Juricek's picture
John Juricek
Grand Library CAL 212
3434 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90089
(213) 740-2931