Skip to main content

Ancient Art and Archaeology *: Article Databases

Guide to ancient Greek and Roman art and archaeology resources

Print Bibliographies

Oxford history of classical art
2001 printing available in AFA Stacks
N5610.O84 2001
1993 printing available in Leavey and Grand
N5610.O84 1993

Oxford guide to classical mythology in the arts
Available in Leavey Info Commons, Doheny Reference, and Grand
NX650.M9R45 1993  vol.1-2

Find Journal Articles

L'Année Philologique (1924-present)
International bibliography covering all aspects of classical studies, including history, archaeology, literature, philosophy, from prehistory to the Middle Ages. Many citations are annotated, primarily in French. Contains over 810,000 records from more than 1,000 journals.  Updated annually, but about 2 years later.  Includes book reviews.
Print index from 1924-2011 located Doheny Reference/Classics
Call No. Z7106.M35a
Complemented by Gnomon Online (below)

Abbreviations used in the APh. Usage guide from the University of New Brunswick 

AATA Online (1932-present)
Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts includes abstracts to over 132,000 articles from about 400 journals as well as book chapters, conference proceedings, and reports on the analysis, examination, excavation, preservation, and restoration of artifacts and monuments; site information. Includes about 12 subject-specific bibliographies.

Art Full-Text and Art Index Retrospective (1929-present)
Art Full-Text contains complete indexing and abstracting, and the full-text of some art journals, from 1985 through the present.
Art Index Retrospective covers 55 years
(1929-1984) of art journalism from 420 periodicals; includes 25,000 citations to book reviews.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1934-present)
Indexes journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Selective coverage back to the 1860.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and RILA (1975-2007)
Covers European and American art and material culture from late antiquity (4th century A.D.) to the present. Abstracts are in English or French. Succeeded by the International Bibliography of Art.

Gnomon Online Information System: Kritische Zeitschrift für die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft (1925-present)
Citation-only database covers "all aspects of classical studies", and includes book reviews, notes, and obituaries from the print volumes of the journal Gnomon (v.1-78, 1925-2006). The annual bibliographies appearing in the print from 1990 on are also included, as well as selected coverage of major journals from 1987. Indexes "old" Pauly-Wissowa and Neue Pauly. Also includes a searchable Latin and Greek inscription database. The thesaurus is organized hierarchically by subject, with entries for history, literature, mythology, philosophy, histoepigraphy, topography, etc. Complements L'Annee Philologique (above). Updated annually.

International Bibliography of Art (2008-present)
Successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), IBA uses the same thesaurus and authority files. Includes over 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. At least 60% is in French, German, Italian, and Spanish). Coverage begins with late antiquity.

TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists (1992-present)
Archives tables of contents appearing in over 200 journals such as AJA, Archaeologischer Anzeiger, and the Journal of Mediterranean Archaeology (excludes electronic journals). Includes links to some full-text articles or abstracts.  For e-journals, see Bibliotheca Classica Selecta.

Zenon Bibliotheks…des DAI (1956-present)
Union catalog of books and scholarly journal articles from 16 libraries of the Deutsches Archaeologisches Institut (currently about 710,000 records), with an emphasis on Greek and Roman culture (as well as other Mediterranean cultures). Includes books, journal articles, conference proceedings, festschrift, and selected reviews.  There are also 3 subject bibliographies.
Usage guide from the Clark Art Institute

 

 

Subject Guide

John Juricek's picture
John Juricek
Contact:
Grand Library CAL 212
3434 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90089
(213) 740-2931
juricek@usc.edu
Website