Skip to main content

Ancient Art and Archaeology *: General Art and Archaeology Sites

Guide to ancient Greek and Roman art and archaeology resources

General Art and Archaeology Sites

Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world. From the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago

ArchNet (Arizona State University). Virtual library for archaeology. Information is categorized by geographic region and subject. Includes listings of academic archaeology departments, museums, journals, etc.

Art and Architecture of the Aegean (University of Colorado). A useful collection of images covering Greek and Roman architecture, reliefs, sculpture, and painting.

Art History Resources on the Web (Sweet Briar College). A vast collection of URLs, covering virtually all periods of Western art. Indexed according to specific periods and styles.

ArtServe (Australian National University). A large collection of images of art and  architecture, most from Italy, Sicily, Greece and Turkey, as well as Japan and India.

Beazley Archive (Oxford University). Sir John Beazley's collection of sculpture casts, a photo archive, and Greek pottery database. Includes a bibliography and glossary.

Bellum Catilinae. A useful collection despite the inappropriate name and other quirks. Links to some unusual sites, such as ones on Roman food, reenactments, and coin dealers.

Guide to the Photo Archive of the Deutsches Archaeologischer Institut, Rom. This archive, also published in microfiche, includes photographic collections of Alinari (Firenze), Archives Photographiques (Paris), Warburg Institute (London), and Rheinisches Bildarchiv (Koln).

Maecenas: Images of Ancient Greece and Rome. Large site of good quality color images. Includes Magna Grecia and Roman colonies. Created at SUNY, Buffalo.

Musei Vaticani (The Vatican Museums). A rich collection of images from the Vatican collection. Includes Etruscan, Greek, and Roman works.

Pompeii in Pictures.  Extensive collection of photographs that claims to be "A complete photographic plan of everything at ancient Pompeii as it is today" by two enthusiasts.  Extensive indexing, includes houses, fountains, tombs, etc.

Virtual Library Museums Page (International Council of Museums). Directory of home pages of museums around the world.

Worlds Intertwined: Etruscans, Greeks, & Romans.  Online exhibition of the classical world galleries at the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology.

Subject Guide

John Juricek's picture
John Juricek
Contact:
Grand Library CAL 205
3434 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90089
(213) 740-2931
juricek@usc.edu
Website