Skip to main content

Feuchtwanger Memorial Library *: Additional Primary Sources and related Sites of Interest

Personal materials, manuscripts and correspondences of German-Jewish writer Lion Feuchtwanger and his invaluable library. Collections on German-speaking exile artists who had to flee Europe and found refuge in Southern California

  What are Primary Sources?

 

Unlike secondary sources, which comment on their topics, primary sources are actual documents from the time period, people, and events of the time under consideration. Primary sources can be any number of the following types of materials:

  • diaries and correspondence
  • photographs and illustrations
  • newspaper articles from the time period
  • manuscripts
  • pamphlets, broadsides, and other ephemera

To search for primary sources, develop a keyword search such as the following--please note that "sources" is a good general search term for primary sources:

  • exile studies AND los angeles
  • literature AND exile AND sources

Searching with Subject vocabulary is very effective as well. You'll see subject headings when you click on a book's title and view the Subject links in the book's record; examples of subject headings relevant to the field of German Exile Studies include:

  • Poltical refugees -- California
  • Authors -- German -- 20th century -- Exile --California -- Los Angeles
  • Political refugees -- California -- Los Angeles -- Sources

Content of this box courtesy of Sue Tyson

Additional Primary Sources and related Sites of Interest

 UCLA, Department of Special Collections

Ernst Toch Archive, Franz Werfel Archive

 

Deutsches Historisches Museum

Selection of books burned on May 10, 1933 

 

Catalogue of the Archival Papers of the Deutsches Exilarchiv 1933-45

The catalogue contains the records of archival papers catalogued by the German Exile Archive 1933 - 1945 in the German National Library since 2005.

 

The German and Jewish Intellectual Émigré collection

The German and Jewish Intellectual Émigré Collection is comprised of over 95 collections (approximately 750 cubic feet) of personal papers, organizational records, tape recordings, photographs, and related research materials documenting the German intellectual exodus of the 1930s and 1940s.

 

An Émigré Life - Munich, Berlin, Sanary, Los Angeles

Oral History of Marta Feuchtwanger, available in the Internet Archive

 

Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach (in German)

Das Deutsche Literaturarchiv Marbach (DLA) ist eine der bedeutendsten Literaturinstitutionen weltweit. In seinen Sammlungen vereinigt und bewahrt es eine Fülle kostbarster Quellen der Literatur- und Geistesgeschichte. Es dient der Literatur, der Bildung und der Forschung. Erkenntnis aus originalen Quellen zu fördern und Freude an der Literatur zu wecken, sind seine Ziele. Regional bildet es einen Mittelpunkt des literarischen Lebens für seine nähere und weitere Umgebung. National ist es das wichtigste Zentrum zur Sammlung und Erschließung der deutschen Literatur seit der Aufklärungszeit.

 

Leo Baeck Institute

The Leo Baeck Institute is devoted to studying the history of German-speaking Jewry from its origins to its tragic destruction by the Nazis and to preserving its culture. In the Leo Baeck Institute Archives, individuals, families, and organizations have deposited their documents. Family papers, community histories, and business and public records date back centuries and touch upon virtually every phase of German-Jewish life. Detailed descriptions of all materials are available in the online catalog.

 

 Online Archive of California

The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 150 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

Monika Mann Papers at the Monacensia, Munich

The Varian Fry Foundation Project

 

Walter-A-Berendsohn-Forschungsstelle-für-deutsche-Exilliteratur

 

Kurt Weill Foundation for Music

 

Deutsche Exilpresse digital - German Exile Press 1933-45

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Michaela Ullmann's picture
Michaela Ullmann
Michaela Ullmann Exile Studies Librarian USC Libraries, Special Collections ullmann@usc.edu
Contact:
Doheny Memorial Library, 230
3550 Trousdale Parkway
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0189
213-740-8185
Social:Twitter Page