Skip to main content

Feuchtwanger Memorial Library *: Primary Sources: Archives/Collections at USC

Personal materials, manuscripts and correspondences of German-Jewish writer Lion Feuchtwanger and his invaluable library. Collections on German-speaking exile artists who had to flee Europe and found refuge in Southern California

Access and search our Finding Aids

Directs links to the finding aids for a selection of our Exile Studies collections:

LION FEUCHTWANGER PAPERS

MARTA FEUCHTWANGER PAPERS

HANNS EISLER PAPERS

FELIX GUGGENHEIM PAPERS

HEINRICH MANN PAPERS

LUDWIG MARCUSE PAPERS

ERNST JÄGER PAPERS (Correspondence with Leni Riefenstahl)

OSCAR HOMOLKA PAPERS

HAROLD VON HOFE PAPERS

MARTA MIERENDORFF PAPERS

GRETE MOSHEIM COLLECTION

ERNST MATRAY PAPERS

IRMGARD LENEL PAPERS

JULIUS BERSTL COLLECTION

JACOBSOHN COLLECTION ON GERMANY BETWEEN THE WARS

ERNEST KANITZ COLLECTION

RICHARD RALF COLLECTION

RICHARD LERT PAPERS

USC WARNER BROTHERS ARCHIVE

 

In USC's Cinematic Arts Library are represented

John Brahm
William Dieterle
Fritz Lang
Joe Pasternak
Eric (Erich) Pommer
Joseph Schildkraut
Franz Werfel

German Exile Studies Collections at USC

A great strength of the collections in the University Libraries at USC are the unique primary documents and collections about German exiles, many of whom were Jewish. These collections came to the University from different sources, but they all contain original correspondence, manuscripts, photographs relating to German artists and intellectuals who spent some time in Southern California between the 1920s and 1950s. Most of these collections have materials of extreme scarcity and importance which have not yet been studied. All of the collections have documents that would provide valuable primary source material for scholars of literature, cinema, history, and music.

Collections within the Feuchtwanger Memorial Library

The voluminous archival material collected by Lion Feuchtwanger includes his personal and business correspondence, multiple versions of his writings, reviews of his works, photographs, and other personal artifacts. In addition, the Archive contains the correspondence of Marta Feuchtwanger who survived her husband by almost thirty years. Marta Feuchtwanger remained an important figure in the exile community and devoted the remainder of her life to promoting the work of her husband. The Archive also includes correspondence and manuscript material from fellow exiles Hanns Eisler, Felix Guggenheim, Heinrich Mann, Ludwig Marcuse and Marta Mierendorff and many more persons related to this period and topic.

How to use the collections

Please schedule an appointment before you plan to consult our collections for the first time!

Most of the collections in the Feuchtwanger Memorial Library are located on campus. There are however collections and parts of collections which are currently housed in our off campus facility. To make sure that you can start your research without any delay, please contact Feuchtwanger Curator Michaela Ullmann at ullmann@usc.edu in advance.

All collections and books from the Feuchtwanger Memorial Library must be consulted in USC's Special Collections reading room on the second floor of Doheny Memorial Library.

Photocopies from the collections are restricted to 100 photocopies per project.

Subject Guide

Michaela Ullmann's picture
Michaela Ullmann
Michaela Ullmann Exile Studies Librarian USC Libraries, Special Collections ullmann@usc.edu
Contact:
Doheny Memorial Library, 230
3550 Trousdale Parkway
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0189
213-740-8185
Social:Twitter Page