Social Work *: California Social Welfare Archives

Randall Information Center | USC School of Social Work

California Social Welfare Archives

The California Social Welfare Archives (CSWA) was organized in 1979 to collect materials that chronicle the history and diversity of social welfare in California, with an emphasis on Southern California. The Archive contains correspondence, minutes, memoranda, annual reports, research papers, conference proceedings, oral histories, and newsletters of California social welfare and related organizations which have reflected in their programs the development of social welfare programs, problems, issues, and services in the State.

It also contains the personal papers of social workers or social work lay or civic leaders who participated in the emergence of social programs, public or private. Included in the collection are documents illustrating the roles of philanthropic groups and, especially, those depicting the history of marginalized groups as providers and consumers of mainstream social welfare services, as well as their experience in developing and using their own community services through, for example, benevolent societies and religious groups.


Access: The Archive may be used by academic and community researchers. Use of the Archive is by appointment only.

Contact: Social and Behavioral Sciences Library Services 
Email: sscihelp@usc.edu
We will respond within 24 hours, observing normal business hours Monday-Friday.

What is in the archives?

The California Social Welfare Archives (CSWA) includes oral histories, agency papers, correspondence, minutes, memoranda, annual reports, research papers, conference proceedings, and newsletters. 

Access the CSWA online catalog to search for the materials we have in our physical collections. You can also view oral histories and recordings of honoree events from our digital library