Skip to main content

Economics *: Economics Databases

A resource for the USC College Department of Economics

California State Controller's - Government Financial Reports

The California State Controller's Office has posted more than 60 million fields of financial information, provided by 58 counties, more than 450 cities and more than 4,800 special districts over the past 12 years, in an open data format. Also included is data for each of California’s 130 state and local government pension plans.

Get Started - easy way for the public and researchers to access reports submitted by local governments.

City Data - Create a Report - select cities and any of the different categories for up to five cities.  Data available for cities dating back to 2003.  An interactive map allows you to quickly look at a particular city's revenue, expenditures, liabilities, assets, fund equity, and population.

County Data - Create a Report - just like the city data, this data is available at the county level for all 58 California Counties.



* All information comes from the California Sate Controller's Office


Economic Data & Statistics

US Census Bureau - The Census Bureau is part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. .

Economic Census - The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law.

  • Economic Data by Geography - The Census Bureau typically produce data for the following six levels of geography: National, States, Metro Areas, Counties, Places, and ZIP Codes.
  • Uses of Census Data - The Economic Census provides detailed statistics that are important for industries and communities, which is often used and relied by Trade associations, chambers of commerce, and businesses for economic development, business decisions, and strategic planning.
  • Business & Industry data - Business data from the Census Bureau by industry. Using the 2012 NAICS code or industry title a selection of detailed annual or quarterly reports are available.

Federal Reserve Economic Research & Data - Economists at the Federal Reserve Board conduct innovative research on a broad range of topics in economics and finance. In addition to presenting their research to policymakers, Board economists share their research at academic conferences and publish it in peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly outlets.

Data from the United Nations - The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community.

UN Comtrade - International Trade Statistics - Free access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010.

World FactBook -  The World Factbook is prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency for the use of US Government officials, and the style, format, coverage, and content are designed to meet their specific requirements. This publication provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States - an annual summary publication of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the World - a growing collection of the statistical abstracts from many countries

ProQuest Statistical Insight - ProQuest provides a research guide on this product at:



Publicly Available Resources

Selected Key Economics Databases

These are links to some of the key Economics databases at USC.  Please see the complete list on the tab for Business Databases.

Remote Access to USC Libraries

Access to the USC Libraries electronic resources from off-campus or on-campus via WiFi is best achieved by connecting to the USC Network via USC NetID Login, sometimes referred to as shibboleth.