Skip to main content

Urban & Regional Planning *: Historic Preservation and Image Archives

Below are links to databases and scholarly web sites that support the study of urban planning and its related sub-disciplines.

Historic Preservation and Image Archives

  • Automobile Club of Southern California Digital Archive -- image collection that provides documentation on the region's transportation history, expecially Los Angeles from 1892 to 1963, from the Auto Club's Corporate Archives.
  • Cities/Buildings Database -- a collection of digitized images of more than 5000 buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world.
  • Cultural Heritage Search Engine -- a search engine about the conservation of cultural heritage, restoration and maintenance of the architecture, preservation of the urban landscape.
  • Map Collection, Perry-Castañeda Library -- comprehensive digital collection of maps, both contemporary and historical, developed by the University of Texas Libraries. Includes links to maps of all the continents, a detailed directory of map resources for each state, and a guide to other map resources on the web.
  • National Atlas of the United States -- provides a comprehensive, maplike view into the enormous wealth of geospatial and geostatistical data collected for the United States from twenty different federal agencies.
  • Panoramic Photograph Collection -- contains approximately four thousand images featuring American cityscapes, landscapes, and group portraits from the Library of Congress, American Memory Project.
  • SPIRO -- visual online public access catalog to the 35mm slide collection of the Architecture Visual Resources Library (AVRL) at the University of California at Berkeley. The collection numbers over 250,000 slides and 20,000 photographs.
  • PreservationDirectory.com -- excellent online resource about historic preservation, building restoration, and cultural resource management in the United States and Canada.
  • Urban Planning, 1794-1918 -- a bibliography of journals, conference reports, books, official documents, and other sources related to all aspects of urban planning, compiled by John W. Reps, a Professor Emeritus at Cornell University.
  • Works Progress Administration Maps  -- archive of digitized maps from the USC
    Digital Collections that document land use from all across the city during the 1930s and 1940s. Each map has a detailed description of its contents, along with buttons that make it easy to email or print each map.
  • WorldImages -- database that contains almost 75,000 images including 50,000 art and architecture images. Users can also browse the collection in 440 portfolios. Portfolio subjects include "cityscapes and city life" and several under "transportation."