Skip to main content
Directories and Resource Guides
- About Planning -- an Internet clearing house for information about websites, publications, essays, and news related to land use planning, growth management, comprehensive planning, smart growth, new urbanism and much more.
- Best of the Web: Urban and Regional Planning -- comprehensive directory of categorized links to content-rick web sites on urban planning, land use, transportation, sustainable living, and related subjects.
- Carbon Monitoring for Action (CARMA) -- a database containing information on the carbon emissions of over 50,000 power plants and 4,000 power companies worldwide. Updated quarterly, CARMA aggregates data on individual plants to the level of operating companies, parent corporations, and several geographic entities (continents, countries, states/provinces, and cities worldwide, with additional reports for U.S. metro areas, congressional districts, and counties).
- Center for Land Use Interpretation Database -- contains a continuously updated collection of unusual and exemplary land usage sites throughout the United States. The database includes information about the function and form of the national landscape and industrially altered landscapes, such as mining sites, features of transportation systems, and field test facilities for a variety of high-impact technologies. The database also includes museums and displays related to land use, and one of the most thorough listings of land art sites available.
- Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency (DSIRE) -- a comprehensive source of information on state, local, utility and federal incentives and policies that promote renewable energy and energy efficiency.
- European Spatial Planning Research and Information Database (ESPRID) a web-based information source for researchers and policy-makers concerned with strategic spatial planning in a European context. It contains material from academic books and journals, policy reports, planning documents, and policy statements, databases and websites and also includes information on relevant experts.
- Land Use Law -- a comprehensive online clearinghouse of land use planning and regulation that includes cases and materials on environmental use regulation, documents that illustrate the different kind of plans that communities do, and links to a number of interesting land use sites, state planning and zoning laws and statutes on a number of land use topics, zoning and other land use ordinances, and articles on a variety of land use topics.
- LUPIN: California Land Use Planning Information Network -- a project of the California Environmental Resources Evaluation System (CERES), the site contains links to planning data, organizations, and other resources, including the full-text of selected California, tribal, regional, county, and city plans
- NICOLE -- a leading forum on contaminated land management in Europe, promoting co-operation between industry, academia and service providers on the development and application of sustainable technologies.
- Open Directory Project: Urban and Regional Planning -- a comprehensive directory of the Web constructed and maintained by a global community of volunteer editors.
- Planetizen: The Planning & Development Network -- provided by Urban Insight for the urban planning, design, and development community, this is a one-stop source for urban planning news, commentary, interviews, event coverage, book reviews, announcements, jobs, consultant listings, training, and more.
- Sapling.info -- a global gateway for information and a forum for its exchange, centered around more than 1,100 reviewed links to architecture, planning and landscape-related websites.
- State and Local Government on the Web -- provides one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments, including local and regional planning agencies. Drop-down menus can be used to view all the websites in a given state or to view websites of state government constitutional officers, state legislatures, state judiciaries and departments across all states.