Skip to main content

Urban & Regional Planning *: Finding Articles in Databases

Below are links to databases and scholarly web sites that support the study of urban planning and its related sub-disciplines.

Other Useful Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Related Social Science Databases

NOTE TO OFF-CAMPUS USERSFor directions and trouble-shooting tips on how to access the library's resources from off-campus, go here.

Legal Research

The following databases access legal research:

  • British and Irish Legal Information Institute -- a full-text database of British and Irish case law and legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.
  • Global Legal Information Network--a public database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations.
  • HeinOnline -- full text access to digitized content of major legal periodicals, the Federal Register, and other law-related materials.
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals -- a multilingual index to articles and book reviews published worldwide.. The database covers international (public and private), comparative, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia.
  • LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe -- a database that includes full text access to law review journals, federal and state case law, European Union Cases, and the complete contents of the International Legal Materials publication from the American Society of International Law.
  • Martinus Nijhoff Online -- a database indexing the book content of Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, a leading publisher of imprints in international law and human rights law. Use the database to locate titles that can then be searched in the HOMER catalog or the Law Library's catalog, ADVOCAT.
  • World Legal Information Institute [WorldLII] Database --  an open access database of Internet-accessible legislation, constitutions, statutes, case law, superior or high court decisions, journals, treaties, law reform, domain name decisions, secondary materials, and related legal material from around the globe.

Key Databases in Urban Planning

  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals -- comprehensive index to the literature of architecture and architectural design, including urban planning and design. Surveys more than 700 U.S. and foreign journals, including publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
  • ICONDA -- the International Construction Database contains over 400,000 references to international books, research reports, conference proceedings, business reports and non-conventional literature concerning to all aspects of planning and building from twenty three countries.
  • Journal of Planning Literature -- comprehensive index to recent books and journal articles in the field of city and regional planning and design. Difficult to locate relevant articles but worth a try because it is focused exclusively on urban planning and its related sub-disciplines.
  • Transportation Research Information Services [TRIS] Online -- contains almost half a million records of references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, and on-going research in the field of transportation.
  • Urban Studies Abstracts -- provides access to critical developments on all aspects of urban studies. Topics covered include trends in urbanization, urban history, housing and real estate, land use, transportation, urban fiscal and budgetary policy, and general theory and research.

Important Databases Related to Urban Planning

Below are links to databases and electronic resources that support the study of urban planning and its related sub-disciplines. For a more comprehensive list, go here.

  • America: History and Life -- a database that covers the history of the United States and Canada. It includes key English-language historic journals, selected historic journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and selected relevant journals in the social sciences and humanities.
  • EconLit -- an index of economic literature. Subject indexing and abstracts of journals and over 500 collective volumes per year, plus books, dissertations, and working papers.
  • Environment Index -- a comprehensive database to journal articles covering all aspects of environmental policy and politics. Includes coverage of the impact of nuclear waste and cleanup.
  • GEOBASE -- a database providing citations and abstracts to over 2,000 scholarly journals in the earth, ecological, and geographical sciences, with many citations rfelevant to issues of development and urban and regional planning.
  • Historical Abstracts -- a database that covers history of the world from 1450 forward. Excludes the U.S. and Canada. Includes key history journals from major countries, as well as relevant selected journals from the social sciences and humanities. All abstracts are in English.
  • Public Administration Abstracts -- provides abstracts covering recent literature on all aspects of public administration. Entries are drawn from books, articles, pamphlets, government publications, significant speeches, legislative research studies, and other fugitive material.
  • SimplyMap -- a web-based mapping application that enables users to create professional-quality thematic maps and statistical reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. NOTE: you can create your own user space or log on as a general user.

Broken Link? Let Us Know!

If you have trouble linking to a database, e-journal, or other online resource provided by the USC Libraries, GO TO THIS PAGE and report it to us so we can fix it.