Skip to main content

Government Information *: Search Engines

This site lists links to databases and scholarly web sites that support access to and analysis of government information.

Search Engines

  • FedLaw -- provides references of use to individuals doing Federal legal research and which can be accessed directly through "point and click" hypertext connections. It is a good general legal research site covering federal statutes, regulations, and Executive Orders, the federal judiciary, the legislative branch, state and territorial laws, arbitration and mediation information, general research and reference, professional associations and organizations, and how-to legal-related sites.
  • Geospatial One-Stop -- a portal of geospatial information containing thousands of metadata records (information about the data) and links to live maps, features, and catalog services, downloadable data sets, images, clearinghouses, map files, and more. The metadata records were submitted to the portal by government agencies, individuals, and companies, or by harvesting the data from geospatial clearinghouses.
  • GPO Access -- a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of information produced by the Federal Government. You can search across multiple databases or browse using an A-Z list of online sources or grouped by branch of government.
  • International Data Base (IDB) -- maintained by the Bureau of the Census, this database provides demographic data for selected indicators, countries and user-selected regions, and years, population statistics, and summary data, population pyramids and access to more data for a single country.
  • The Patent Lens -- this system can be used to search the full-text of over eight million patents and patent applications. The site also integrates INPADOC (International Patent Documentation Center) legal status and patent family information from over sixty countries directly into the search results. This data can help to give an idea whether a patent application related to one of interest was filed in other countries, and possibly whether patents are in force or applications are still pending. Updated weekly.
  • THOMAS -- provides access to federal legislative information including Bills, Resolutions, floor activity in Congress, Congressional Record, schedules and calendars, links to committee information, Presidential nominations, treaties, and miscellaneous government resources.
  • USA.gov -- the U.S. government's official web portal. It is an easy-to-search, free-access website designed to give users a centralized place to find information from U.S. local, state, and federal government agency websites.