Skip to main content

International Relations *: Digital National Security Archive Collections

A guide to databases and scholarly web sites in support of research in international relations and comparative politics..

Digital National Security Archives

Digital National Security Archive

The Digital National Security Archive contains more than thirty full-text and fully searchable collections consisting of over 100,000 meticulously indexed documents, totaling approximately 600,000 total pages. Each of these collections exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post-World War II through the 21st century. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included in the database.

Click on the "Collections Guide" link in the upper left-hand corner of the page to access each collection. For a comprehensive help guide to using these materials, GO HERE.

The collections currently available are:

  • Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990
  • The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962
  • China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998
  • Colombia and the United States: Human Rights, Narcotics and the Dirty War in Colombia, 1960-2010
  • The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
  • Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection of Documents, from Bay of Pigs to the Brink of Nuclear War
  • Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Operations, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954–1999
  • El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
  • El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994
  • The History of the National Security Agency: 1945 to PresentIran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
  • The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal
  • Iraq-gate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and th Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
  • Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976
  • Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part II, 1977–1992
  • Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A verbatim record of U.S. diplomacy, 1969-197
  • Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
  • The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009
  • Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
  • Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
  • The Philippines: U.S. Policy during the Marcos Years, 1965–1986
  • Presidential Directives on National Security from Harry Truman to William Clinton (Part I)
  • Presidential Directives on National Security from Harry Truman to George W. Bush (Part II)
  • South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
  • The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991
  • Terrorism and U.S .Policy, 1968–2002
  • The United States and the Two Koreas from Nixon to Clinton (1969-2000)
  • U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996
  • The U.S. Intelligence Community, 1947–1989
  • The U.S. Intelligence Community after 9/11
  • U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
  • U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991
  • U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968
  • U.S. Nuclear Non-Proliferation Policy, 1945–1991
  • U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954–1968
  • U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969–1975