Skip to main content

International Relations *: International News

A guide to databases and scholarly web sites in support of research in international relations and comparative politics..

International Media Sources

The following databases and websites provide access to international news sources:

ABYZ News Links -- a directory of links to online news sources from around the world with contents organized on a geographical basis. The directory contains links to newspapers and other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.

Access World News -- comprehensive news collection for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.

Ethnic NewsWatch -- provides full-text access to scholarly and popular articles from ethnic, minority, and native publishers in the United States, with international coverage. The database offers news and analysis of issues and events from a diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.

LEXIS/NEXIS Academic -- from the Search the News contents, the database provides full-text access to selected international magazines and newspapers, radio and broadcast transcripts from news programs, and blogs.

Library PressDisplay – includes more than 2000 newspapers from 100 countries in 60 languages; all sources displayed in their original format, including photos and advertisements. Access to the most recent 3 months only.

Newspaper Map -- an online system that uses GIS mapping to find approximately 10,000 newspapers worldwide categorized by language. Each page contains websites of the listed newspapers and links to read the papers through Google Translate.

RadioStationWorld -- a directory of radio stations on the web, radio stations that offer streaming webcast services, as well as national and regional broadcast networks, shortwave radio, satellite radio, hospital radio, cable radio, closed circuit/campus radio, and radio service providers.

Yahoo World News -- news service of Yahoo with links to regional coverage in Asia, Africa, Latin America, Middle East, and Europe.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.


Country and Regional Media Sources

Resources that provide access to regional newspapers and media sources:

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library -- a digital library for newspaper resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean region. The database provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

China Core Newspapers -- this full-text multidisciplinary database provides access to selected articles in about 700 Chinese language newspapers published in the People's Republic of China from 2000 to the present. Contents are updated continuously. Click on "Newspapers" above the search box and use Chinese simplified characters to search for articles.

eufeeds -- an RSS aggregator that provides direct RSS news from more than a 1,000 European newspapers, press agencies, and magazines. EU Feeds is updated every 20 minutes with news articles from the most popular national, regional, and local newspapers in the EU 27 Member States. Click on a flag at the top of the page to designate newspapers from your country of interest. -- an Internet-based service of translated news briefs covering key political, cultural, economic, and opinion pieces appearing in the Arab media. The service covers news from all twenty-two Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab diaspora generally, with coverage that extends across the North Africa region as well as including the United Kingdom and other countries that host Pan-Arab media.

ProQuest Latin American Newsstand -- provides over 100 full-text newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese from across Latin America.  Includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela with additional access to regional magazines and wire services.

Radio Free Asia -- an aggregator of "indigenous free media" covering domestic news and events in Cambodia, China, Laos, Myanmar, North Korea, Tibet, Uyghur, and Vietnam. News articles focus primarily on politics, economics, and human rights and are divided by country or you can search for articles by keyword.  

Selected Western European Newspapers and News Services -- a subset of links maintained by Western European Specialists Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries that provides links to selected newspapers and other news sources in twenty-two European nations.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

Historical International News Sources

These databases and websites offer access to historical newspapers and media sources:

Facts on File World News Digest -- this archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than one million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. The database covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.

Foreign Broadcast Information News Service -- an archive of translated and English language news compiled from non-United States media sources. Topics covered include political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, magazines, and non-classified technical reports. Coverage is from 1941-1996.

London Times Digital Archive -- offers the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Coverage is from 1785-2008.

Telegraph Historical Archive -- The Daily Telegraph was launched in 1855, and for more than 150 years it has shaped and recorded the history and democratic values of the United Kingdom. The Sunday Telegraph was launched as a sister paper in 1961, and The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 provides users with access to both the daily and Sunday editions.

The Time Magazine Archive -- presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published weekly by Time Inc., the magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects.

World Newsreels Online -- a streaming video database which captures full runs of key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. These films, produced from 1929 right through to the early post-war period (1966), provide a unique resource that gives insight into how people learned about, and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.