Skip to main content

International Relations *: Citation Tracking

A guide to databases and scholarly web sites in support of research in international relations and comparative politics..

Style Manuals

Below is a guide about to how cite books, articles, and other materials using various style manuals.

Saving Your Citations

Image result for refworks

  • Organize and store your citations
  • Share your citations with other researchers
  • Create quick bibliographies
  • Access your citations online from anywhere

 For more information go here.

Journal Contents Alert Services

In general, "alert services" refer to services or features included with scholarly databases that send you email notifications when something of interest to you has been published or added to a database. These can be on specific topics or from specific journals. Listed below are multidisciplinary content alert services that notify you when a new issue of a journal is published. Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

  • CiteULike -- currently has details of over 13,000 journals. You can search or browse for journal titles, and then scan recent articles in these journals.  If you know aboutt RSS feeds, you can get a CiteULike feed for each journal table of contents. Access to the full text will depend on institutional or personal subscriptions. Registration is free.
  • My Favorite Journals -- this service allows you can select journals of interest from over 10,000 titles, and these are then added to ‘My Favorite Journals’, then you can select any of these favorites to view the latest Table of Contents.  Access to the full text will depend on institutional or personal subscriptions. Registration is free.
  • ticTOCs -- covers over 12,500 journal table of contents from more than 430 publishers. You can search for journal titles, view the latest  table of contents for each journal, link to the full text of around 390,000 articles (where institutional or personal subscription allows), export table of content feeds to popular feedreaders, and select and save journal titles in order to view future table of contents (you need to register to ensure your ‘MyTOCs’ are permanently saved). Registration is free.

Citation Tracking

Citation tracking is a way to trace the scholarly impact of a specific research study or author's work. It can be an effective way to use a "landmark" or influential article to find more recent, related articles that cite that article. It also can be an effective way to track who has subsequently cited the work of a leading scholar in a particular field.

Databases/Search Engines

  • EBSCO Databases (e.g., Communication Source, PsycINFO, Linguistics & Language Behavior, Sociological Abstracts -- click on the article you want and choose Export" under tools on the right. Then choose "Direct Export to RefWorks" from the choices for exporting the record.
  • Google Scholar -- search results that have been cited by others will have a link that says "Cited by [number]." Results can be inconsistent.
  • HeinOnline -- includes a citation analysis tool which allows you to view the most cited law review articles. Search results include a "Cited by" link to a list of articles that cite that article or document.
  • JSTOR -- select "article locator" and search by author name and/or parts of the title. Click on the article title to see the number of times cited in the database (on the right). Most current publications not included.
  • Proquest Research Library -- click on "advanced search" and do a "Citation and Document Text Search." Find the author's name in footnotes by typing the author's last name.
  • Web of Science -- select "Cited Reference Search" to find articles that cite the work(s) of an author. The database uses APA style of last name and first initial (e.g., Odell J*). Be sure to truncate the initial by adding an asterick after the letter (e.g., R*) to see a complete list of authors. The database does index more than the first author of an article.

Journal Publishers

  • Cambridge University Press -- there is no citation searching on this site per se, but you can enter name of full name of the author in "full text" text box to get results.
  • Elsevier ScienceDirect -- click the "Search tab. Enter the name of the author and choose "References" from the drop-down menu.
  • Sage Premier -- click on "advanced search" and select the "References" field from the drop-down box.
  • SpringerLink Journals -- there is no citation searching on this site per se, but you can enter name of full name of the author in "full text" text box to get results.
  • Wiley Online Library -- enter the name of the author and choose "References" from the drop-down menu.