Skip to main content

International Relations *: Home

A guide of useful links to databases and scholarly web sites in support of research in international relations.

Reference Resources for Basic Background Information

These databases enable you to search the contents of handbooks, encyclopedias, and other reference books in a variety of subjects.

USC Library Catalogs

The library catalogs list materials owned by the USC Libraries and the libraries for Law and Health Sciences.


The primary location for all research resources on international relations is the Von KleinSmid Center Library for International and Public Affairs. The library collects in the major areas of emphasis of the discipline, including general theory and methodology of international relations, international political economy, international security studies, foreign policy analysis, comparative politics and diplomacy, and regional studies. Additional emphasis is given to issues of globalization, non-governmental organizations [in support of the international documents collection], sustainable development, peace and conflict studies, all aspects of human rights policy and law, and emerging economies. There are no geographical limitations regarding what is acquired, but particular interest is placed on European countries in support of the European Union regional depository collection. With the exception of international relations theory and ideology, only materials spanning the current thirty years is covered in the collection development policy. With the general exception of course textbooks, scholarly materials of all types, including multimedia and online resources, are collected. The collecting efforts emphasize material either published in or translated into English. Materials in other languages are acquired very selectively based on curricular needs or that are accepted for transfer from the East Asian Libraries and Boeckmann Center for Iberian and Latin American Studies. For a more comprehensive overview and analysis of the current collection policy, GO HERE [pdf].

Subject Guide

Robert V. Labaree
Dr. Robert V. Labaree
VKC Library, Room 38A