Skip to main content

English Language & Literature *: Journals/ Articles

This guide points researchers to a few key USC Libraries resources that might be helpful to start research projects in the area of literary studies.

Finding Articles

BrowZine: A tool to explore USC Electronic Subscriptions to Scholarly Journals

Browse USC subscriptions to Arts and Humanities Journals 
 

 

You can conduct a comprehensive search for articles via main USC Libraries page. For tips, see USC Libraries Search: A User's Guide .

 

For more focused results, search for articles in key databases in your field:

MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB)

MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) is an index to scholarly publications in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals published worldwide.  This bibliography is assembled under the auspices of the Modern Language Association, the leading professional association for literature and languages scholars.  Mostly citation database, with limited access to full text. 

Click to see MLA Bibliography Tutorials created by the Modern Language Association

Project Muse

FULL text. 380 high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers

Literature Online (LION)

A fully searchable library of over 300,000 works of English and American literature, overseen by an academic Advisory Board. Broken into 4 parts: the Master Index, Literary Database, Reference Works, and Web Resources.

JSTOR

Multidisciplinary collection of full text scholarly journals. RECOMMENDATION: Advanced search, and select your discipline and/or journal titles to search. NOTE: It is an archive, so please do not expect recent issues of journals in JSTOR.

Proquest Research Library

Index to scholarly, popular, and newspaper articles, many in full text. Full coverage of Los Angeles Times.  Good source for film reviews, both in popular and scholarly sources. Note: full text doctoral dissertations created at US and Canadian universities.

EBSCOhost-OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) 

Index to articles from scholarly and popular sources, early 1980’s-present.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
ABELL contains over 783,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.

Readers' Guide

Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega™ includes indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles from over 250 journals as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes antiques, arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film & television, gardening, health & medicine, history, home improvement, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, travel and much more.

Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.

 

 

Subject Guide

Zofia Lesinska's picture
Zofia Lesinska
Contact:
DML 118
213-740-7373