Skip to main content

English Language & Literature *: Shakespeare Resources

This guide points researchers to a few key USC Libraries resources that might be helpful to start research projects in the area of literary studies.

Selected Databases and Article Collections

 

The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare in Oxford Reference Online

Shakespeare in LION (Literature Online)

  • Texts By William Shakespeare - view primary works
  • Search within Texts - search Shakespeare's primary works by keyword or title
  • Resources - view all works about Shakespeare
  • Criticism - journal articles and citations
  • Bibliography - a complete list of the author's works in all genres
  • Biography - an introduction to Shekespeare's life and works
  • Reference - reference articles on Shakespeare
  • Web Sites - a selection of relevant web links
  • Poets On Screen

IIPA (International Index to the Performing Arts - Full Text)
"...a performing arts resource with over half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to the present, covering theatre, dance and film."

Play Index
"Indexes over 31,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949. An invaluable aid to finding the perfect plays to match any group's production resources, Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject (sisters, culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type. Play Index provides the full publication details needed to locate the play in its published manifestations. For plays published separately, the publisher, date, pagination, ISBN, and LC number are given. Plays in collections link to full bibliographic information."

MLA International Bibliography
"Index to scholarly publications in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals published worldwide."

Online Archives and other sites

Shakespeare's Quatros Archive
"The Shakespeare Quartos Archive is a digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays. A cross-Atlantic collaboration has also produced an interactive interface for the detailed study of these geographically distant quartos, with full functionality for all thirty-two quarto copies of Hamlet held by participating institutions."

ERIC: The English Renaissance in Context
"A NEH project, ERIC was designed to provide scholars and students at a variety of levels with access to major texts of the English Renaissance in their original versions. ERIC grows out of both contemporary critical tendencies in the field of English Renaissance studies and a commitment to providing broad access to original source materials that would otherwise be out of reach for many."

The Howard Furness Shakespeare Library (University of Pennsylvania)
"A collection of primary and secondary sources, including both texts and images, that illuminate the theater, literature and history of Shakespeare, Shakespearean texts, theatrical performances, and criticism, Furness Library resources are now being selectively scanned and mounted here to make them available for class and research use."

Shakespeare's Globe Theatre
"Founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare's Globe is a unique international resource dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare's work and the playhouse for which he wrote, through the connected means of performance and education. Together, the Globe Theatre Company, Shakespeare's Globe Exhibition and Globe Education seek to further the experience and international understanding of Shakespeare in performance."

Subject Guide

Zofia Lesinska's picture
Zofia Lesinska
Contact:
DML 118
213-740-7373