Skip to main content

English Language & Literature *: More Online Sources

This guide points researchers to a few key USC Libraries resources that might be helpful to start research projects in the area of literary studies.

More Electronic Resources

Literatures in English: Online Resources for the English Department

Electronic Resources listed in this document include periodical databases, reference materials, and digital archives that support the study of literatures in English. The list also includes resources that support the cultural studies approaches to literary studies.

A comprehensive list of relevant databases in alphabetical order
A -- Z by title

Below, please find key databases by category: 1) general reference, 2) bibliographies, 3) article databases (indexes), 4) periodical directories, 5) book reviews, 6) primary sources, 7) subject specific online resources, 8) digital libraries and webliographies, 8) selected cultural studies resources

General Reference

Barleby Library Public domain literary works & Searchable online book of quotations

Gale Virtual Reference Library Contains encyclopedias and reference books in a variety of subjects.

Literature Resource Center Full-text biographies and criticism on over 90,000 authors, literary movements, and genres from every age and literary discipline.

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory A guide to criticism from classical antiquity to the present day.

Literature Online (LION) a searchable library of 350,000 works, and reference resources

OED Online The definitive English language dictionary and record of English language development.

Oxford Reference Online A comprehensive collection of Oxford’s 100 language and subject dictionaries Oxford Reference Online: The Core Collection brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works, include full text companions to American and British Literature.

Bibliographies: searching for books; book chapters; essays in books; poems in anthologies; plays and web resources

MLA Bibliography Index to scholarly publication in language, linguistics, literature and folklore. Articles, books and a limited number of essays, book chapters.

ABELL Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1920-2001) (part of LION—Literature Online)

EBSCO (Wilson) This comprehensive collection includes the following bibliographies and indexes 1) Book Review Digest, 2) Essay and General Literature Index, 3) Short Story Index, 4) Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature, Play Index” and more

Columbia Grangers World of Poetry Indexes poetry in anthologies and much more. Click for more info

Dissertation Abstracts Abstracts of dissertations and theses written at US and Canadian universities.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses. Full text of a majority if US and Canadian dissertations and theses.

Illustrated Incunabula Short Title Catalog (ISTC) A beautiful catalog of materials printed up to the year 1500. Not available online, but on CD-ROM at the Doheny Reference Desk.

Voice of the Shuttle Created by Professor Alan Liu at the University of California in Snata Barbara, this website for humanities research provides a structure and briefly annotated guide to online resources that at once respects the established humanities disciplines in their professional organization and points toward the transformation of those disciplines as they interact with the sciences and social sciences and with new digital media.

Indexes (Article Databases)

MLA Bibliography Index to scholarly publication in language, linguistics, literature and folklore. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals

EBSCO Host (Wilson) This comprehensive collection includes the following bibliographies and indexes 1) Book Review Digest, 2) Essay and General Literature Index, 3) Short Story Index, 4) Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature, Play Index” and more

Arts & Humanities Citation Index Citation database for arts & humanities (Select ISI Web of Science and proceed to select Arts and Humanities Citation Index)

ABELL Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1920-2001)

19th Century Masterfile includes Poole’s Index to the Nineteenth Century Periodicals)

JSTOR Full text runs of social science, humanities, and science journals. Retrospective, rarely contains issues published in recent years. To acces a collection of current issues of scholarly resources, please search Project Muse

Project Muse Full text of Johns Hopkins journals in the humanities and social sciences.

 

Periodical Directories

Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory Provides users with essential serials bibliographic and access information that ranges from subscription rates to the latest web sites updated monthly.

MLA Bibliography Index to scholarly publication in language, linguistics, literature and folklore. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals

 

Book Reviews

EBSCO (Wilson) provides access to several indexes helpful in searches for book reviews: 1) Book Review Digest, 2) Book Review Digest Retrospective 3) Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature, 4) Wilson Omnifile and Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Choice Reviews Online CHOICE reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year CHOICE publishes more than 6,500 reviews by subject experts. Published by Association of College and Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association

 

ArchivesUSA Primary source materials from nearly 4,800 US manuscript repositories.

ArchiveGrid Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies. (free through May 31st, 2006)

Archives Hub A national gateway to descriptions of archives in UK universities and colleges

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment Full text collection of documents dating from 1600-1800

The Historical Manuscripts Commission Part of The National Archives, The Historical Manuscripts Commission has a specific role to organize and disseminate information about the location of manuscript collections across the United Kingdom

Early English Books Online (EEBO) EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700

Empire Online (1492-1969) Over 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field. Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Section II: Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; Section III: The Visible Empire (Winter 2004/5); Section IV: Religion and Empire (Winter 2005/6); and Section V: Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969 (Winter 2006/7).

Internet Library of Early Jourmals Digitized runs of important 18th and 19th century British journals

Making of America (MOA) Materials accessible here are Cornell University Library’s contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

British Poetry 1780-1910:a Hypertext Archive of Scholarly Editions U of Virginia

Subject Specific Digital Projects and Archives

Jane Austen Society City of Bath England (not strictly scholarly, but really fun)

Blake Digital Text Project Professor Hilton, U of Georgia

The William Blake Archive A hypermedia archive sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by the Preservation and Access Division of the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities at the University of Virginia, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Sun Microsystems, and Inso Corporation. With past support from the Getty Grant Program and the Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art. The archive provides unified access to major works of visual and literary art that are highly disparate, widely dispersed, and more and more often severely restricted as a result of their value, rarity, and extreme fragility.

The Camelot Project U of Rochester

Samuel Taylor Coleridge U of Virginia

Early Modern Women Database

Edgar Allan Poe U of Virginia

The Romantics Page U of New Mexico

William Shakespeare U of Virginia

The Walden Woods Project Not strictly scholarly. The Thoreau Institute at Walden Woods opened in 1998. The Institute is a center for research and education focused on Henry David Thoreau, his literary achievements and philosophy, and his influence on environmental and social movements.

Mark Twain and His Times U of Virginia

Walt Whitman U of Virgini

Women Writers U of Virginia

Digital Libraries and Webliographies

Early American Imprints Resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America (1639-1800)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) A digital library of early English books from 1400 to 1700.

Bartleby Library Public domain literary works & Searchable online book of quotations.

British Women Romantic Poets UC Davis electronic texts, 1789-1832.

The Victorian Women Writers Project Digital library at U of Indiana

Electronic Text Center A rich collection of electronic books and impressive electronic archives for literary historians.

Humanities Text Initiative U of Michigan A collection of digital literary works and of social history sources.

Literature Online (LION) A searchable library of 350,000 works, and reference resources.

Lit Finder A searchable collection of digitized poetry, short stories, and essays

Voice of the Shuttle Created by Professor Alan Liu at the University of California in Snata Barbara, this website for humanities research provides a structure and briefly annotated guide to online resources that at once respects the established humanities disciplines in their professional organization and points toward the transformation of those disciplines as they interact with the sciences and social sciences and with new digital media.

Selected Cultural Studies Resources

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment Full text collection of documents dating from 1600-1800

Empire Online Over 60,000 images of original documents linked to essaysby leading scholars in the field. Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Section II: Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; Section III: The Visible Empire (Winter 2004/5); Section IV: Religion and Empire (Winter 2005/6); and Section V: Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969 (Winter 2006/7)

Gerritsen Collection: Women’s History Online 1543-1945 The greatest single source for the study of women’s history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages.

GLBT Life GLBT Life is the premier resource to the world’s literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues.

HarpWeek Electronically reproduced and enhanced pages of Harper’s Weekly from The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II (1857-1874).

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 19th century Contains an index for 1801-2004, and full text for 1840-1891 and 1901-1904. The 19th century will be complete by early 2006, with the 20th century following later in the year.

Women and Social Movements in the US 1600-2000 Includes 65 document projects with 1,800 documents, and more than 23,000 pages of additional full-text documents.

Women Studies International Bibliography Covers several bibliographic women’s studies databases in the core disciplines

Victorian Database Online [USC users only] Bibliography of materials on 19th century British studies.

 

Comprehensive List: Resources in Alphabetical Order

A

ABES Online annotated, highly selective bibliography of English Studies.To use ABES, please leave the USERNAME box blank, and type UNISOUCA in the PASSWORD box. The database accomodates one user a a time. In other words, no multiple simultaneaous users.

ABELL Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1920-2001)

Accessible Archives [USC users only] Archival 18th- and 19th century Northeast newspaper resources.

African-American Poetry (1750-1900) (part of LION ) [USC users only]

Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts (free World Wide Web)

American Drama than 1,500 dramatic works (1714-1915)(part of LION )

American Film Institute Catalog [USC users only] Documents American films with cast, plot summary and historical notes.

American Memory Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text. (Library of Congress)

American Poetry (1600-1900) poems, 200 poets (part of LION ) [USC users only]

American Radicalism Collection

American Verse Project (U of Michigan) 400 poets, poetry from the period prior to 1920

ArchivesUSA Primary source materials from nearly 4,800 US manuscript repositories.

ArchiveGrid Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies. (free through May 31st, 2006)

Archives Hub A national gateway to descriptions of archives in UK universities and colleges

Arts & Humanities Citation Index Citation database for arts & humanities (Select ISI Web of Science and proceed to select Arts and Humanities Citation Index)

Arts & Humanities Search Over 2,500, 000 records, 1980 to present

Autry National Center The Autry National Center is an intercultural history center formed from the merger of three important museums: the Southwest Museum of the American Indian, the Museum of the American West (formerly the Autry Museum of Western Heritage), and the Women of the West Museum.

Jane Austen Society City of Bath England (not strictly scholarly, but really fun)

B

Bartleby Library Public domain literary works & Searchable online book of quotations

Bible Gateway Searchable database of a variety of versions of the Bible

The Bible in English (990-1970) Twenty versions of the English Bible(part of LION)

The King James Bible (part of LION)

Bibliography of Native North Americans [USC users only]

Blake Digital Text Project Professor Hilton, U of Georgia

The William Blake Archive A hypermedia archive sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by the Preservation and Access Division of the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities at the University of Virginia, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Sun Microsystems, and Inso Corporation. With past support from the Getty Grant Program and the Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art. The archive provides unified access to major works of visual and literary art that are highly disparate, widely dispersed, and more and more often severely restricted as a result of their value, rarity, and extreme fragility.

Book History Online atabase in English on the history of the printed book and libraries. It contains titles of books and articles on the history of the printed book worldwide. It is based on ABHB, the Annual Bibliography of the History of the printed Book and Libraries. Book History Online (BHO) is designed, managed, maintained and published by the Koninklijke Bibliotheek, National Library of the Netherlands, in co-operation with national committees in countries all over the world.

Books in Print [USC users only] In-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books from North American publishers.

Book Review Digest Plus in EBSCO (Wilson) With coverage back to 1983, Book Review Digest Plus indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews. Book reviews from Book Review Digest and from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes. Those indexes are: Applied Science & Technology Index, Art Index, Biological & Agricultural Index, Education Index, General Science Index, Humanities Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science, Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature, Social Sciences Index, and Business Periodicals Index.with entries drawn from over 8,000 periodicals covered by other Wilson databases.

Book Review Digest Retrospective  (select this  database in EBSCO) Dates Covered: 1905-1982. Book Review Digest Retrospective covers 300,000 books. . Citations with excerpts of reviews of juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language are included. Over a million book reviews are cited.

British Fiction, 1800-1820 Database of Production, Circulation, and Reception, produced in Cardiff University’s Centre for Editorial and Intertextual Research, contains bibliographical records of 2,272 works of fiction, and contemporary materials (anecdotal records, newspaper advertisemts, reviews, subscription lists, etc)

British Poetry 1780-1910 Hypertext Archive of Scholarly Editions, U of Virginia: Electronic Text Center

 C

 

The Camelot Project (U of Rochester) 

Canadian Poetry [USC users only] (part of LION )

Canadian Poetry [USC users only] (part of LION )

 

Chicano Database [USC users only]
Identifies all types of material on Mexican-American and Chicano topics.

 

ChoiceReviews.online [USC users only]

Communication Abstracts [USC users only]
Reviews recent literature in communication studies.

 

Contemporary Authors [USC users only]
Author biographies. Now available online as part of the Literature Resource Center.

 

Cumulative Index to a Selected List of Periodicals (pre-1920) [USC users only]

 

Current Contents Connect [USC users only]
Up-to-date coverage of research-level journals in all fields, includes browsing by issue feature

D

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Digital Scriptorium: Columbia U, 2001
Images of medieval and renaissance manuscripts

Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls (Stanford U)

For more databses, please click  here  Databases A -- Z

Subject Guide

Zofia Lesinska's picture
Zofia Lesinska
Contact:
DML 118
213-740-7373