Skip to main content

Nineteenth-Century Literary Studies: Key Electronic Resources

This guide focuses on resources for the study of nineteenth century literature, with special emphasis on primary resources. Its origin can be traced to a 2003 research orientation offered to a graduate seminar on 19th-Century British Literature.

Online Databases and Periodicals

Nines  NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first.

 

C19: Nineteenth Century Index C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.4 million books and official publications, 64,891 archival collections and 15.6 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 10 bibliographic indexes, including over 300,000 records from the ongoing digitization of British Periodicals Collection

The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

 

19th CENTURY MASTERFILE
19th Century Masterfile
is a vast "Index of Indexes", and is the largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. It brings together brings together over 60 subject indexes to:

Periodicals
Newspapers
Books
US Congressional Record
US and UK Government Documents
US Patents

You can query over 8 million citations in 19th Century Masterfile in a single search.

 

Internet Library of Early Journals Digitized runs of important 18th and 19th century British journals

Subject Guide

Zofia Lesinska's picture
Zofia Lesinska
Contact:
DML 118
213-740-7373