Oxford Dictionary of National Biography 56,646 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2004.
Historical Newspapers Online
(USC Electronic Resources).
18th-, 19th- and 20th-century indexes to The Times (London) and the New York Times.
Victorian Studies Bibliography
Prepared by the staff of Victorian Studies and a committee of the
Victorian Division of the Modern Language Association of America, the
Bibliography annually indexes over 400 journals, representing
scholarship in a range of disciplines.
- Nineteenth-Century Fiction
- 250 novels from the period 1782 to 1903, including works by all the
major Victorian novelists such as Dickens, Thackeray, the Brontes,
Eliot and Hardy, as well as the landmarks of Gothic and other fiction
from the Romantic period.
Part of the Literature Online collection.
- Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800 - 1900, Series 2 Here is a directory to the largest single body of historical
documents arising out of nineteenth century England at the height of
the British Empire. The Directory provides a more comprehensive,
detailed and useful bibliographical record (including Locations and
facsimile Title Pages) than we yet have for printed books, government
publications or manuscripts of the century. It is subject-
comprehensive, intending to include every periodical and newspaper
published on a regular basis, from daily to annually, in every
language, within England: a goldmine for cultural historians,
genealogists and all subject specialists.
Literary Resources on the Net
A searchable portal of literature resources on the web assembled by Professor Jack Lynch of Rutgers