American Indian Newspapers aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
Includes a wide range of primary source material related to the international history of law and society, including: trial transcripts, case notes, police and forensic reports, detective novels, newspaper accounts, broadsides, photographs true crime literature, and related ephemera.
This collection documents the growth of tourism from the mid-1800s through to the 1980s. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
Covers destinations in Britain, the United States and Europe with speical attention to seaside resorts, cultural tours and National Parks. Also documents the growth of travel agencies along with the importance of transport networks for tourism development. Primary sources include: brochures, guidebooks, photo albums, tourist ephemera, printed books, travel agency records, handwritten journals, government correspondence promoting tourism after the Second World War and periodicals such as Cook’s Excursionist (1851-1902). In addition there are numerous audiovisual materials including promotional films from Thomas Cook, the Camping and Caravanning Club and Lunn Poly.
Access to the complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. Provided by Gale-Cengage.
This collection of over 4,000 formerly classified U.S. government documents provides a comprehensive survey of the U.S. intelligence community’s activities in Europe, including Eastern Europe, Turkey and Cyprus, covering the time period from the end of World War II to the fall of the Iron Curtain and beyond.
Includes a diverse range of primary source material that documents the planning of fairs, the experience of visiting them and the physical, cultural and political legacies they leave behind. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
With content from hosting and participating countries from every continent, imperial history, race and national identity are key themes. World’s fairs mark some of the earliest examples of mass events where millions attended and were entertained by performances, exhibits and rides that went on to shape popular culture.
New Books @ USC on American History & Culture
Mouse over titles or click a title to get more details:
History News Network - An online magazine with articles, written by historians, placing current events in historical perspective.
Supports advanced research and scholarship on human societies between 1450 and 1850. The Institute’s range is global. Unlike existing centers that focus on particular regions, the Institute aims to advance knowledge of the diverse societies in and around the Atlantic and Pacific basins.
A center for scholarly investigation of the history and culture of California and the American West. Through sponsorship of innovative scholarship and research, ICW draws on the resources of the University of Southern California and the Huntington Library to build an innovative collaboration between a research university and a research library.
Founded in 1994, CHNM uses digital media and computer technology to democratize history—to incorporate multiple voices, reach diverse audiences, and encourage popular participation in presenting and preserving the past.
An international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the WWW. Edited listservs and websites publish peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussion for colleagues and the interested public.
A membership association dedicated to making the past useful in the present and to encouraging collaboration between historians and their public. Public history involves the many and diverse ways in which history is put to work in the world; it is history that is applied to real-world issues.