Skip to main content

Don Quixote de La Mancha: DQ and Film

Overview of print, electronic and film resources, on Spanish author Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra and his masterpiece Don Quixote de la Mancha

DQ and Film: More Information

Search for books and films about Don Quixote at other libraries.

Web Resources

Homer Advanced Search

Don Quixote and Film

This section contains information on film adaptations and selected readings about Don Quixote and film, some with filmographies and bibliographies. Scroll down to Part II for a list of films at USC based on the novel Don Quixote.

Don Quixote has been called a "pre-cinematic" novel. Since 1903 French silent film, filmmakers throughout the world have attempted to adapt Don Quixote to the silverscreen or in televised productions, with varying degrees of success. The critically-acclaimed 2002 documentary Lost in La Mancha depicts the artistic process and dilemmas involved in adapting the novel to film. Visit the Visions & Voices website for information about the program Cinematic Cervantes: Adapting Don Quixote to the Screen and the student film contest.

I: Books and Articles

II: Video and DVD Adaptations

Don Quixote and Film: I. Books and Articles

How to find these books and articles: click on each title to see the HOMER record, call number and library location. Books and films in the Cervantes collection must be consulted in the Doheny Library Special Collections reading room, Monday-Friday 9am-5pm and Saturdays 1-5pm. You may page (request) your selections in HOMER (next to the call number) before your visit or make your requests in person at the Special Collections reference desk.

For questions or an appointment with the subject librarian: email brobinso@usc.edu

Don Quixote on Film: II. Video and DVD Adaptations

Selected film adaptations of the novel Don Quijote de la Mancha.

How to find these films: click on each title to see the HOMER record, call number and library location. Films in the Cervantes collection must be viewed in Doheny Library Special Collections, Rm 206, Monday-Friday 9am-5pm and Saturdays 1-5pm. You may request your selections in HOMER (next to the call number) before your visit or make your requests in person.

For questions or an appointment with the librarian contact: brobinso@usc.edu

Librarian, Special Collections/Boeckmann

Barbara Robinson's picture
Barbara Robinson
Contact:
Doheny Memorial Library 250

(213) 821-2261