Gerontology *: USC Gerontology Collections

This is the primary research guide for Gerontology students and faculty

USC Gerontology Publications

Andrus Gerontology Center PublicationsFrom 1969 to 2008, the Ethel Percy Andrus Gerontology Center published over 250 titles. Most of these items are accessible through the Grand Library, although a number are at Doheny. Use the USC Search to identify the items of interest.

Author publications. Although not a comprehensive list, these searches retrieve publications from authors identifying a connection with the USC Leonard Davis School of Gerontology and/or the Ethel Percy Andrus Gerontology Center. There will be both overlap and unique publications across the databases.

USC Collections

USC Gerontology Dissertations and Theses

USC Gerontology doctoral dissertations and masters thesis are available online and at Grand. Several search strategies are listed below. However, be aware these searches bring up all dissertations on gerontology - not just those approved within the the USC Leonard Davis School of Gerontology.

  • USC Digital Library:
    • To search the dissertations and theses in the Digital Library:
      1. Go to the USC Digital Library homepage
      2. Click on: Collections (in the top navigation bar)
      3. Scroll down and click on: University of Southern California Dissertations and Theses 
    • Note: The full-text of every item is searched
      • Use the Search Collections search box to focus your search (initial search)
      • Click Advanced Search on the drop-down menu in the search box, then Add another field
      • Use the Narrow Your Search by options in the left navigation menu
    • Additional searches:
      • Click Search within Results on the drop-down menu in the search box, then add new terms and click the search icon
      • Restart your search by clicking Browse this Collection
    • ​There are 17 collections of Dissertations and Theses;  If fewer appear under Searching collections:
      • Click: Add or remove collections
      • Click: U
      • Check all boxes beside University of Southern California Dissertations and Theses 
      • Click: Okay
      • Resume searching
  • USC Libraries (1976-2006)
    • Direct search: http://bit.ly/2wjQ1vi
    • Alternatively:
      1. Go to the USC Libraries homepage
      2. Click: Advance Search
      3. Select Call Number from the drop-down menu
      4. Use: GERON
      5. Click: Search
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ University of Southern California:
    • Use the drop-down menus:
      • Anywhere: Gerontology
      • AND
      • University/Institution: University of Southern California

For more information, visit the USC Libraries Research guide: Dissertations.