Skip to main content

Musical Theater: Article Indexes

Scholarly and popular articles

The indexes listed below contain information from a variety of sources, including scholarly music and theater journals as well as popular magazines and trade papers.

Musical theater is an area of research where you will need to make use of both scholarly and popular sources. Both can provide information critical to your research.

Remember that scholarly articles will usually provide author attributions and will use footnotes or endnotes to cite sources. More popular articles may not have an authorial byline and will almost never provide any citation information.

RILM

RILM—International Repertory of Music Literature is the standard scholarly music publications index. It contains over 400,000 entries indexing journals, conference proceedings, books and dissertations.

While this database only contains citations, many of the citations will link to full-text articles via USC Content Connection.

Subjects indexed include: historical musicology; ethnomusicology; popular music and jazz, including Broadway musicals

Music Index

Music Index Online indexes more than 640 international music periodicals. The coverage of this index is more popular in orientation than RILM, but unlike RILM it truly is a strictly citation-only index—no full-text access at all at this point.

A broad range of subjects relevant to classical and popular music are indexed, and coverage includes book reviews, cd/record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.

While the electronic holdings of this resource (1979 – present) are useful, what makes the Music Index really valuable is that the print edition indexes periodicals back to 1949. This can be a critical source in seeking out articles about shows produced from 1950-1965, a period many consider the golden age of the Broadway Musical.

IIPA

The International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text draws its current content from more than 100 international performing arts periodicals from 9 countries, and also indexes feature performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. IIPA covers nearly all aspects of the world of the performing arts, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Most IIPA records in the current coverage (1998 forward) contain an abstract.

Holdings: 1998 – present