Skip to main content

Musical Theater: Websites

When to use a website

Websites can be a helpful tool as you begin your research. They are often a good way to get basic information about a specific musical, a specific production, or a specific performer. In many cases websites will also direct you to further useful resources.

For example, if you have chosen to research the show Bye, Bye Birdie but you don’t know much about it, searching one or more of the websites listed below will tell you when it opened on Broadway, who was in the cast, and who was involved in both writing and bringing it to the stage. Getting this information first will make it easier for you to find more in-depth articles or opening-night reviews.

When you are using information from a website, always be sure you double-check any facts you acquire and be critical about how reliable the posted information is. The websites listed below are sites that we recommend as reliable starting points.

IBDB

The Internet Broadway Database is an excellent place to begin research on virtually any musical. This website contains full production information and cast lists for musicals produced on and off Broadway.

This database is cross-indexed by name as well as by production, so if you look up Hello, Dolly, for example, you can see that Oliver Smith designed the show; clicking on his name gives you a list of all the musicals on Broadway for which he designed the sets.

Musicals101.com

Musicals101.com is a website that includes brief histories about specific musicals and select feature articles about performers, productions and even Broadway theaters themselves. Unlike many websites, most of these articles do provide author information and cite secondary sources.

Infography: American Musical Theater

Infography is a web-based bibliography that indexes a variety of subjects. The contributors to Infography are professors, librarians and academics who are often recognized experts in their fields.

The Infography bibliography on American Musical Theater provides an extensive list of key books on this topic.