Reference Sources
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physicsthe Bible of chemical and physical data that are widely used for chemistry, physics, chemical physics, physical chemistry, biochemistry, geophysics, astronomy, acoustics, polymer, molecular structure, spectroscopy, nuclear physics, particle physics, atomic physics, molecular physics, optical physics, analytical chemistry, fluids, solids, electrochemistry, thermo chemistry, kinetics, nomenclature, math etc.
- CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new windowHandbook of Chemistry and Physics, Combined Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Marine Natural Products, Dictionary of Food Compounds, Dictionary of Carbohydrates, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds.
- ENGnetBASEcomprehensive e-reference collections (over 700 handbooks and references titles) for all engineering areas
- The Merck Index - An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and BiologicalsThe Merck Index is a fully-searchable database with over 11,500 monographs on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. In addition, the Merck Index includes a reference of over 500 named organic reactions and reference tables that include common abbreviations, chemical structures, constants, and conversions.
- Chemistry & Chemical Engineering References: KnovelUSC currently subscribes Knovel's Chemistry & Chemical Engineering Collection (Number of Titles: 308). Please log in the Knovel - My Subscription page to find titles of interest.
Subjects: Analytical Chemistry, Catalysis, Dispersion & Aggregation, Electrochemistry, Environmental Chemistry, General References, Industrial Chemistry & Chemicals, Industrial Safety, Physical Chemistry, Plant Design, Operation & Energy Efficiency, Polymer Chemistry, Separation, Transport Processes, etc. - e-EROS Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesisoffers a systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis.
- Feiser & Feiser's Reagents for Organic SynthesisThe most important information on commonly used and new reagents, with descriptions and illustrations of chemical reactions. Includes preparation, uses, sources of supply, critical comments, references and more.
- Compendium of Organic Synthetic MethodsTransformations are grouped by the reacting functional group of the substrate and then by the function group reaction products formed. Indices are provided.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyAn important reference work for chemical engineering, material science, and chemistry (copyright 2001; Wiley). It “presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed”.
- Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (8th Edition)e-version in Knovel; Get cutting-edge coverage of all chemical engineering topics - from fundamentals to the latest computer applications. Recently updated to include 75 Digitized Graphs and 20 Interactive Tables of physical properties for over 2,300 organic and inorganic substances.
- Sax's Dangerous Properies of Industrial Materials, 12th ed, 2013The primary source for the hazardous potential of substances. The only reference that combines toxicology, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information on 28,000 substances, including 2,400 new entries. Each entry includes a DPIM code, hazard rating, entry name, CAS number, DOT number, molecular formula, molecular weight, line structural formula, description of material and physical properties, and synonyms.
- Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and DesignOnly in print format, in the reference area of the Science and Engineering Library
- Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and EngineeringOnly in print format, in the reference area of the Science and Engineering Library
- Polymer Handbook (4th Edition)e-version in Knovel
- Ullmann's Chemical Engineering and Plant Design, Volumes 1-2e-version in Knovel
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial ChemistryOnly in print format, at Science and Engineering Library (reference area)
- Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)Spectra for over 33,000 organic compounds, mostly FT-IR, MS, 13C-NMR and H-NMR.
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowRepository of chemical data focusing on biological activities of small molecules. Find physical, biological, and chemical properties, and relationships to health and disease.
- ChemSpider This link opens in a new windowThis free chemical database collates structure and property information from both experiments and predictions. Also includes curated list of literature and datasets relating to a chemical.