University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
LibGuides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | #

A
Academic Integrity
by Avril Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 13, 2012

Accounting *
by John Juricek - Last Updated Oct 11, 2011
A resource for the Leventhal School of Accounting


African American Studies *
by Beth Namei - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012

ALI
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Sep 6, 2011

American Literature Archival Collections in USC Special Collections
by Rebecca Hirsch, Sue Luftschein - Last Updated Sep 9, 2011
Guide to the collections of American Literature held by USC Libraries Department of Special Collections

American Studies & Ethnicity *
by Beth Namei - Last Updated Apr 25, 2012

Ancient Art and Archaeology *
by Amy Ciccone - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011
Guide to ancient Greek and Roman art and archaeology resources

Anglo-Saxon and Old English Studies
by John Jackson - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011
Resources for students researching Anglo-Saxon culture or the Old English language.

Anthropology *
by Ross Scimeca - Last Updated Jul 7, 2011
Welcome to the primary research guide for Anthropology!

Archaeology*
by Amy Ciccone - Last Updated Sep 19, 2011
This guide highlights resources for researching archaeology.

Architecture *
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
Guide to USC Libraries Resources for Research in the Field of Architecture

Archive: Visions & Voices Research Guides from Previous Years
by Joyce Ouchida - Last Updated Aug 12, 2011

Art History and Fine Arts *
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
Guide to USC Libraries Resources for Research in the Fields of Art History and Fine Arts

Art Walk, University of Southern California
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Dec 20, 2010
This brochure of public sculptures and art on the USC campus was published in 2007 by the USC Public Art and Campus Design Committee.

Asian American Studies *
by Beth Namei - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012

Astronomy *
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Oct 7, 2010

B
Biomedical Engineering
by Ben Lea - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011


Business *
by John Juricek, Kim Esser, Helga Haraldsson - Last Updated Jan 19, 2012
A guide to business research at USC.

Business Ethics and Corporate Social Responsibility
by John Juricek - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Includes resources in the area of ethical or socially responsible investing.

C
Careers
by John Juricek - Last Updated Feb 22, 2012
A library research resource for the USC Career Center

Chemistry *
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012
Chemistry Research Guide

Chicano & Latino Studies *
by Barbara Robinson - Last Updated Apr 27, 2012
This guide offers an overview of the specialized multidisciplinary research resources at USC on Chicanos, Latinos and other U.S. Hispanics.

Chicano and Latino Newspapers in the United States
by Barbara Robinson - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012
A guide to Spanish language newspapers published in the United States and books, articles and Web resources about Chicano and Latino journalism.


Chinese History
by Ken Klein - Last Updated Jan 11, 2012
This guide provides detailed access to resources available at USC for study and research of the history of China.

Chinese Studies *
by Ken Klein, Lillian Yang - Last Updated Dec 15, 2011
This research guide is designed to provide an introduction and a short cut to the many and varied resources available for the study of China.

Cinematic Arts *
by Stephen Hanson - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
The Cinematic Arts Library is located on the ground floor of the Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library. The Cinematic Arts Collection supports teaching and research through the Doctoral and post-graduate levels.

Citation Guide
by Avril Cunningham, Sara Tompson, Karen Howell - Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
Guide to various citation styles, including tips for citation analysis and writing.

Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism - An Overview
by Sara Tompson - Last Updated Aug 8, 2011
This Guide is taken from one of the tabs for the Summer Bridge Program Research Guide, and is intended to give you some basic do's and don'ts.

Classics*
by Amy Ciccone - Last Updated Sep 14, 2011
Guide to finding materials on Classical Studies

Comm 200
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Mar 28, 2012
Communication and Social Science

COMM 204 spr 2012
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012

Comm 422
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
Legal Issues and New Media

Communication 302
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Feb 6, 2012

Communication Studies *
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Mar 30, 2012
Research Guide for Communication Studies

Comparative Literature *
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
Guide to USC Libraries Resources for Research in the Field of Comparative Literature

Computer Games Research Guide
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Jun 4, 2009
Research guides to the USC Libraries' resources for researchers and students in The USC GamePipe Laboratory.

Computer Science *
by Ben Lea - Last Updated Sep 30, 2011

Comunication Management 540
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated May 13, 2012

Connecting to Electronic Library Resources from Off-Campus
by Joyce Ouchida - Last Updated Dec 13, 2010

Course Reserves
by Gabriela Garcia - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
Instructions and FAQ

D
Dance *
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Jan 19, 2012
This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find resources in the area of dance.

Defining Excellence in Academic Librarianship at USC (DEAL at USC)
by Danielle Mihram - Last Updated Oct 9, 2011
When the time comes for annual or continuing appointment [tenure] reviews, how are we to document and explain to our colleagues (both within our library and within our institution), exactly what we have accomplished?

Dissertations
by Sophie Lesinska - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012
This guide provides information on locating, borrowing, and purchasing doctoral dissertations. If you are unable to locate dissertations using these instructions, ask a librarian in any USC library for assistance.

Distance Education Network (DEN) Research Guide
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated May 25, 2010
For users in Distance Education Network (DEN) of USC Viterbi School of Engineering

Distance Learning
by Karen Howell, Jade Winn - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012
This guide provides resources and helpful tips to support students in Distance Learning programs or online courses.

Documenting Los Angeles History
by William Dotson - Last Updated Oct 6, 2011
A guide to the archival collections -- related to Los Angeles history and culture -- selected for the NHPRC-funded Documenting Los Angeles History project.

Don Quixote de La Mancha
by Barbara Robinson - Last Updated Mar 20, 2012
Overview of print, electronic and film resources, on Spanish author Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra and his masterpiece Don Quixote de la Mancha

DVDs in Leavey Library - Finding & Using
by Karen Howell - Last Updated Sep 27, 2011
This is a guide to finding, reserving, and viewing DVDs and videos held in the Leavey Library. The collection is an interdisciplinary one that supports class instruction and may be used for research and academic events.

E
E-books
by Karen Howell, Avril Cunningham - Last Updated Sep 27, 2011
A general resource for information about E-books at USC Libraries, and beyond.

Earth Sciences *
by Jean Crampon - Last Updated Jan 10, 2012
This is the primary Earth Sciences guide to support teaching and research for the Earth Sciences through the doctoral level and beyond.


Economics *
by John Juricek - Last Updated Oct 11, 2011
A resource for the USC College Department of Economics

Education *
by Jade Winn - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Library Resources in the field of Education

Engineering *
by Norah Xiao, Najwa Hanel - Last Updated Jan 19, 2012
engineering, science

English Language & Literature *
by Sophie Lesinska - Last Updated Mar 1, 2012
This guide points researchers to a few key USC Libraries resources that might be helpful to start research projects in the area of literary studies.

Environmental History Archival Collections in USC Libraries Special Collections
by Jacqueline Morin - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Guide to the collections of environmental politics and history held by USC Libraries Department of Special Collections

Environmental Sciences *
by Jean Crampon - Last Updated Jan 10, 2012
This guide is intended for the science side of Environmental Studies. Policy and other social sciences are not part of this focus.

European Union Documentation
by Sherry Mosley - Last Updated Feb 10, 2009
A guide to finding European Union print and online documentation.

Exiled German-speaking intellectuals in Southern California
by Michaela Ullmann - Last Updated Apr 14, 2011
During the 1930s and 1940s, many German Jews and intellectuals fled Nazi Germany. This LibGuide provides information about German-speaking intellectuals who found refuge in Southern California

F
Faculty Mentoring
by Linda Weber - Last Updated Jul 15, 2011
Faculty Mentoring Resources

Festival de Flor y Canto at USC: A Guide to Resources
by Barbara Robinson - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012
A guide to USC's 1973 and 2010 Festivales de Flor y Canto, groundbreaking literary events featuring poets and writers from the past and performers from the new and future generation.

Feuchtwanger Memorial Library *
by Michaela Ullmann - Last Updated Nov 21, 2011
Personal materials, manuscripts and correspondences of German-Jewish writer Lion Feuchtwanger and his invaluable library. Collections on German-speaking exile artists who had to flee Europe and found refuge in Southern California

Finding Aid: Edgar Ewing Archives
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Feb 10, 2011




Finding Aid: Save Outdoor Sculptures! (SOS!) Files: Los Angeles and Neighboring Counties
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Mar 31, 2011
Inventory of outdoor sculptures in the Los Angeles and neighboring counties in Southern California

Finding Aid: Small Architectural Archives at the AFA Library
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012
List of miscellaneous architectural archives at the Helen Topping Architecture and Fine Arts Library


Finding Aid: Wallace Neff Archives
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Mar 24, 2011

French Language & Literature *
by Hari Rorlich, Ph.D. - Last Updated Feb 3, 2010
Library resources and reference help for French students and faculty.



G
Geography *
by Katharin Peter - Last Updated Oct 29, 2011
Library Research and Resources for Geography



Gerontology *
by Emily Bergman - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012

Getty Villa
by Amy Ciccone - Last Updated Aug 30, 2011
Guide to the collections and architecture of the Getty Villa in Malibu, California

GLBT (Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender) Studies *
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Apr 2, 2012
This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find resources in GLBT (Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, & Transgender) Studies.



Going for the Gold: California Stories on the Los Angeles Metro Gold Line: Communities, Public Art, and Placemaking.
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Sep 27, 2010
The project was funded in 2008-2009 by the California Council for the Humanities through its California Stories: California Story Fund

Google Scholar Tips
by Sara Tompson, Karen Howell, Avril Cunningham - Last Updated Sep 29, 2011
This is a guide on how to use Google Scholar effectively and search multiple library e-resources at once.

Government Information *
by Robert Labaree, Sherry Mosley - Last Updated May 27, 2010
This site lists links to databases and scholarly web sites that support access to and analysis of government information.

Graduate & Professional Student Research Workshop
by Karen Howell - Last Updated Sep 30, 2011
This guide supplements the "Digital Grad Student: Multimedia and Productivity Tools for Scholarship" hosted by the GPSS Academic Affairs Committee and the USC Libraries on Sept. 27, 2011.

H
Historic Preservation in Architecture and the Built Environment
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated May 15, 2012
This is a selective guide to researching the history of built environments, landscapes and buildings, with special emphasis on sources related to Los Angeles.

History (Historiography) *
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Jan 29, 2010
This guide is intended for a faculty, graduate, or undergraduate find resources in the area of historiography.

History of Science & Technology *
by Ross Scimeca - Last Updated Jan 29, 2010
This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find resources in the history of science.

History, Africa *
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Jan 5, 2011
This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find resources in the area of African history.

History, Asia *
by Ken Klein - Last Updated Feb 14, 2011
A guide to sources in the histories of Eurasia outside of the subcontinent of Europe.

History, Australia & Oceania *
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Jan 29, 2010
This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find resources in the history of Australia, New Zealand, and Oceania.

History, British *
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011
This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find resources in British and Irish history.

History, Eastern Europe *
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Mar 22, 2012
Guide to USC Libraries Resources for Research in the Field of East European History

History, U.S. & Canada *
by Beth Namei - Last Updated May 9, 2012

History, Western Europe *
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Jan 29, 2010
This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find general resources in the area of West European history.





Holocaust Studies *
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Feb 5, 2012
This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find resources in the area of Holocaust Studies.

How-To: LING 115g
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Oct 26, 2010

How-To: Pharmaceutics I - Case Study
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Feb 10, 2010

How-To: WRI 130
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Apr 1, 2010
For Kevin Egan's class (Spring 2010)

How-To: WRI 130
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012
For LauraAnne Carroll-Adler's class

How-To: WRI 140/ AMST101
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Oct 27, 2009

How-To: WRI 140/ AMST252
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Oct 8, 2010

How-To: WRI 140/ HIST 255
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Mar 30, 2010

How-To: WRI 140/ PHIL141
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Feb 24, 2010

How-To: WRI 140/ POSC 220g (64505)
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Oct 26, 2009
Writing 140 (POSC 220g: Critical Issues in American Politics)

How-TO: WRI 140/ SOCI 155g
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Apr 5, 2010
For Troy Johnson's writing 140 class (Spring 2010). SOCI 155g: Immigrant America - Examination of the immigrant experience in the United States. Comparative analysis of social context of migration, formation of immigrant communities.

How-To: WRI 140/JS
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Mar 30, 2010
WRI 140/ Jewish Studies Lectures

How-To: WRI 140/Phil 140
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Oct 26, 2009

How-To: WRI140/ GEOG100
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Mar 2, 2010

How-To: WRIT140/ 64275
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Mar 12, 2010

I
Intelligence and Counter-Intelligence
by Robert Labaree - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
This guide to research resources that support the study of intelligence and counter-intelligence in international affairs.

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Policies & Procedures
by Travis Goode - Last Updated Mar 9, 2012
This is a guide to USC Libraries' Inter-Library Loan and Document Delivery service (IDD).

International Business
by John Juricek, Kim Esser, Helga Haraldsson - Last Updated Feb 10, 2012
Helpful resources to explore countries, markets, industries and companies around the world.

International Relations *
by Robert Labaree - Last Updated Apr 11, 2012
A guide of useful links to databases and scholarly web sites in support of research in international relations.

Isabel Allende: Guide to Resources
by Barbara Robinson - Last Updated Mar 20, 2012
This guide is designed to support the November 17th, 2009 Visions & Voices Signature Event: An Evening with Isabel Allende. Find sources by and about the author and a list of her works.

Islamic Studies *
by Hari Rorlich, Ph.D. - Last Updated Aug 10, 2011

Italian Language & Literature *
by Hari Rorlich, Ph.D. - Last Updated Aug 26, 2010
Library resources and reference help for Italian students and faculty.


J
Japanese Studies *
by Tomoko Bialock - Last Updated May 3, 2012
General research guide for Japan/ Japanese studies, consisting of English and Japanese sources.

JOUR 201spr
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Apr 29, 2012
History of News in Modern America

JOUR 463
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012
Use of social science research techniques in contemporary reporting and public affairs, including both interpretation and reporting of existing data and conducting of surveys.

Journalism *
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Apr 16, 2012
Library Resources in the field of Journalism

K
Korean American Digital Archive
by Ken Klein - Last Updated Dec 1, 2011
The Korean-American Digital Archive documents the Korean-American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea, and reveals the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.

Korean Studies *
by hyunju kim, Joy Kim, Ken Klein - Last Updated Apr 3, 2012

Korean Studies Multimedia Collections
by Sun-Yoon Lee - Last Updated Feb 10, 2012
A guide to Korean A/V materials, E-resources, Microfilms, Newspapers resources, Map collection

L
LACMA
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Sep 29, 2009
Created for the Museum Series, sponsored by Visions and Voices, October 30, 2009.

Latin American Studies *
by Barbara Robinson - Last Updated May 11, 2012
This guide offers an overview of research resources in the humanities and social sciences at USC for the study of Latin America, including the Caribbean.

Leavey Library - Transportation Options
by Karen Howell - Last Updated May 1, 2012
This guide lists Transportation Options for students studying at Leavey Library. It gives contact information and hours of service for the Campus Cruiser, University Trams, and Yellow Cab L.A.

LibCal
by Sara Tompson, Avril Cunningham - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012

Library & Information Science *
by Emily Bergman - Last Updated Apr 2, 2012
This guide is intended to help librarians and library staff members find resources in the area of library science.

Library Ambassadors to the Residence Halls
by Katharin Peter - Last Updated Sep 8, 2011
Homepage for the USC Library Ambassadors to the Residence Hall Program

Library Tips for Writing 140 Classes
by Sara Tompson - Last Updated Apr 6, 2012
Librarians can use this LibGuide as a basis for instruction sessions for Writing 140 classes. Writing Instructors and students can access the guide before and after a library class session to learn about and review USC Libraries resources and services.

Life Sciences *
by Alan Stevens, Jean Crampon - Last Updated Nov 14, 2011
This is the primary resource guide for the Life Sciences.

Linguistics *
by Ross Scimeca - Last Updated Feb 9, 2011
This guide is for faculty, graduate, and undergraduate research in linguistics


Los Angeles and Southern California *
by Dace Taube - Last Updated Mar 4, 2010

M
Managing Your Information
by John Jackson - Last Updated Sep 24, 2011
A guide to [mostly] free resources that you can use to manage your information while at USC and beyond.

Marshall Online Learning
by John Juricek, Helga Haraldsson, Kim Esser - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Resources for online learning in the USC Marshall School of Business

Mathematics *
by Alan Stevens - Last Updated Sep 9, 2011
The primary place to start your research in Mathematics.

Medieval English Literature
by John Jackson - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011
Starting point for research in medieval studies with particular focus on English literature.

Mental Health resources
by Melanee Vicedo - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
This guide provides information sources pertaining to the School of Social Work's Mental Health concentration.

Mergers & Acquisitions
by Eduardo Tinoco - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011
This guide will provide you with information on some of the resources available to help you in your M&A research.

Middle East
by Robert Labaree - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
This guide provides links to research resources in support of studying political, social, and economic issues in the Middle East.


Military Archival Collections in Special Collections
by Sue Luftschein, Rebecca Hirsch - Last Updated Dec 19, 2011
A guide to the archival collections in Special Collections with military and military-related topics.

Museum of Contemporary Art
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Sep 28, 2009
Created for the Museum Series, sponsored by Visions and Voices, October 2, 2009.

Music *
by Stephanie Bonjack - Last Updated May 10, 2012
Library Resources in the Field of Music

Music Education
by Stephanie Bonjack - Last Updated Jan 4, 2012
Library Resources in the field of Music Education

Musical Theater
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Dec 18, 2008

N
Native American Studies *
by Ross Scimeca - Last Updated Aug 15, 2011

Nineteenth-Century Literary Studies
by Sophie Lesinska - Last Updated Jan 31, 2012
This guide focuses on resources for the study of nineteenth century literature, with special emphasis on primary resources. Its origin can be traced to a 2003 research orientation offered to a graduate seminar on 19th-Century British Literature.

Norton Simon Museum
by Amy Ciccone - Last Updated Mar 19, 2012
This is a guide to the Norton Simon Museum as part of the Visions and Voices program.

Nuclear Non-Proliferation
by Robert Labaree - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
A research guide to support research in the areas of nuclear non-proliferation, nuclear war, and related topics.

O
Organizing Your Social Sciences Research Paper
by Robert Labaree - Last Updated May 4, 2012
The purpose of this guide is to provide advice on how to develop and organize a research paper in the social sciences.

P
Patent Research Guide
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Jan 7, 2011

Peer Review
by Avril Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012


Philosophy *
by Ross Scimeca - Last Updated Jan 29, 2010
A guide to finding reference and research materials in philosophy for undergraduate and graduate students

Physics *
by Norah Xiao - Last Updated Sep 22, 2010

Political Science *
by Robert Labaree - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012
Below are links to databases and scholarly web sites that support the study of political science and its related sub-disciplines.

Politics and Government Archival Collections in USC Libraries Special Collections
by Sue Luftschein - Last Updated Feb 22, 2012
Guide to the collections of political papers and records held by USC Libraries Department of Special Collections

Privacy and Online Identity
by John Jackson - Last Updated Aug 30, 2011
Resources for researching issues of privacy and identity in an online world.

Psychology *
by Emily Bergman - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
This is the primary research guide for Psychology students and faculty.

Public Administration & Policy *
by Robert Labaree - Last Updated Feb 10, 2012
This guide provides information and links in the field of public administration and related sub-disciplines

Public Relations *
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Apr 16, 2012

R
RefWorks
by John Bonham - Last Updated Oct 31, 2011
Brief guide to using RefWorks in the USC Libraries environment.

Religion *
by Ross Scimeca - Last Updated Jan 29, 2010
This guide is designed to aid undergraduate students in their studies in all areas of religion.

Research Guide: Sources in Architectural History
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Oct 9, 2008
This is a guide to selected reference sources in the field of architecture and its history located in the USC Architecture and Fine Arts Library (AFA). There are many additional excellent sources not listed here.

Resources Guide: History of Early Photography
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Apr 22, 2010
Compiled by Ellen Bahr, Alfred University

Robert Pinsky
by John Jackson - Last Updated Aug 26, 2011
A guide to the work of Robert Pinsky

Russian Language & Literature *
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
This guide to select sources is useful primarily for graduate and undergraduate students who are studying Russian or Soviet literature and linguistics.

S

Scholars
by Avril Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 20, 2012

Science fiction
by Ivan E Calimano - Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
Doing research about sci-fi and finding books and journals on this subject



Slavic Languages & Literatures *
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
Guide to USC Libraries Resources for Research in the Field of Slavic Languages and Literatures

Social Work *
by Jade Winn, Melanee Vicedo - Last Updated May 15, 2012
Randall Information Center | USC School of Social Work

Sociology *
by Katharin Peter - Last Updated Nov 3, 2011
Library Research and Resources for Sociology


Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures *
by Barbara Robinson - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012
This guide offers an overview of the research resources related to the study of the literatures and languages of Spain, Portugal, Latin American and the Caribbean.

Special Collections *
by Melinda Hayes - Last Updated Feb 15, 2012
This is a guide to the Department of Special Collections at the University of Southern California and its holdings, including rare books and manuscripts. Useful tools for locating items and scheduling class visits are also included.

Sports Studies *
by Eduardo Tinoco, John Juricek - Last Updated Jun 23, 2011
This page focuses on industry-related information (as opposed to fan-related information). For information on curricula pertaining to the sports industry, please consult USC Marshall School of Business' Sports Business Institute.

Statistics & Data *
by Katharin Peter - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012
Social science numeric sources available through the USC Libraries and on the Internet.

Staying Informed in Social Work Practice
by Melanee Vicedo - Last Updated May 3, 2012
This guide offers resources for staying current with social work research after graduation from USC School of Social Work. It includes information on library services available to you as alumni and links to free databases, government sites and resources.

Summer Bridge - Research Tips from the USC Libraries
by Sara Tompson, Ben Lea - Last Updated May 6, 2012
This guide is intended primarily to support students in the Summer Bridge program, though a lot will be useful to all undergraduates

Sustainable Business
by John Juricek - Last Updated Oct 17, 2011
Information Resources in the Area of Sustainable or "Green" Business

T
Tests & Measurements
by Jade Winn, Linda Weber - Last Updated Sep 27, 2011
This guide is intended to introduce users to the basic procedures and sources available to locate psychological tests and measures.

The Merchant of Venice
by John Jackson - Last Updated Aug 26, 2011
A research guide to Shakespeare's Merchant of Venice.

Theater *
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Sep 15, 2011
This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find resources in the areas of theater and drama.


Three Sisters
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Feb 16, 2011

Transportation Studies *
by Sara Tompson - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011
Transportation is truly a multidisciplinary field, covered in urban planning, civil engineering, computing, etc. The aim of this quick guide is to give you some core links to resources on this topic; it is not an exhaustive guide.


Twelfth Night
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Feb 17, 2011

U
United Nations Documentation
by Sherry Mosley - Last Updated Feb 17, 2009
A guide to finding United Nations print and online documentation

United States Federal Government Documentation
by Sherry Mosley - Last Updated Jan 7, 2011
Access to information and documentation of the branches of the United States Government with links to international document guides

University Archives *
by Claude Zachary - Last Updated Dec 14, 2011
This is a guide to the USC University Archives

Urban & Regional Planning *
by Robert Labaree - Last Updated Mar 28, 2012
Below are links to databases and scholarly web sites that support the study of urban planning and its related sub-disciplines.

USC Shoah Foundation Institute Visual History Archive
by Crispin Brooks - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
Established in 1994 to preserve the oral histories of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust, the USC Shoah Foundation Institute maintains one of the largest video digital libraries in the world: the Visual History Archive (VHA).

USC Special Collections Exhibitions
by Michaela Ullmann - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
This guide will showcase exhibitions which were created by the USC department of Special Collections

Using Images in Theses and Dissertations - Fair Use
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
This guide offers basic information on using images in theses/dissertations. Reasonable use of images and media in teaching, course papers, and graduate theses/dissertations is generally covered by fair use.

V
Veterans Services @ USC
by Eduardo Tinoco - Last Updated Apr 25, 2012
This guide provides contact information for available services at USC for Veterans.

Vision & Voices: Aquila Theatre in Euripides's Herakles
by John Jackson - Last Updated Feb 14, 2012
Resource guide for the February 28, 2012 event.

Vision & Voices: Wonderland and the Mathematical Imaginary
by John Jackson - Last Updated Feb 6, 2012
Research guide for the February 22, 2012 event.

Vision & Voices: Woody Guthrie's Los Angeles, A Centenary Celebration
by John Jackson - Last Updated Apr 2, 2012
Research guide for the April 14, 2012 event.

Visions & Voices: An Evening with John Waters
by Michael Hooks - Last Updated Oct 14, 2011

Visions & Voices: Architecture as Communication
by Robert Labaree - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
This guide is intended to enrich the experiences of those attending the panel discussion featuring Thom Mayne, founder of the Los Angeles–based architecture firm Morphosis, and Michael Govan, director and CEO of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.


Visions & Voices: Broadway Theatres
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Oct 14, 2011


Visions & Voices: Letters from Zora: In Her Own Words
by Michael Hooks - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012

Visions & Voices: Our Town
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Feb 7, 2012

Visions & Voices: Samuel Beckett's Waiting for Godot
by Beth Namei - Last Updated Apr 3, 2012
Research Guide for the April 6, 2012 Visions & Voices Event

Visions & Voices: Screening Homegrown History
by Ken Klein - Last Updated Oct 14, 2011
"Jewish Homegrown History: Immigration, Identity and Intermarriage" is an interactive cultural history project based on software developed by USC's Labyrinth Project. The V+V event offers a preview of the upcoming (2012) exhibit.

Visions & Voices: Thai Town: A Culinary and Historical Tour
by Ken Klein - Last Updated Oct 4, 2011
Visions + Voices walking tour of Thai Town takes place on Saturday, October 22nd, between 9:45 am and 2 pm. Sign up early, as space is limited.

Visions & Voices: Tim Burton Exhibition at LACMA
by Sara Tompson - Last Updated Feb 7, 2012
USC's Visions & Voices initiative is providing a tour of the exhibition of the art work of SoCal native filmmaker Tim Burton's work at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA). This guides points to some selected resources on Burton.

Visions & Voices: Tom Stoppard's "Rock 'n' Roll"
by Sara Tompson - Last Updated Feb 7, 2012
This library guide is intended to accompany the performance of Tom Stoppard's play "Rock 'n' Roll" on January 19, 2012.


W
Wagner's Ring Cycle: 101
by Stephanie Bonjack - Last Updated Aug 10, 2010
This research guide is designed to complement the January 21, 2010 Alumni Association event: Wagner's Ring Cycle: 101

Wellness Information Resources
by Sara Tompson - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
Some tips on finding information on wellness topics within the USC Libraries print and online resources.

William Grant Still Research Guide
by Sue Tyson - Last Updated Aug 23, 2011

William Shakespeare
by Anthony Anderson - Last Updated Aug 22, 2011

Women's and Gender Studies *
by Ruth Wallach - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
This is a guide to selected reference sources in women's and gender studies available at the USC Libraries.

Writ 140/AMST 274: Exploring Ethnicity Through Film
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012
Subculture Style as a form of Resistance

Writ 140_Simon
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012

Writ 340waller
by Chimene Tucker - Last Updated Mar 20, 2012

#
19th Century US History
by Beth Namei - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012
Resources for the study of 19th-Century US History

2012 USC's Undergraduate Writers' Conference
by Avril Cunningham - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
Now in it ninth year, the Undergraduate Writers' Conference celebrates the best of undergraduate writing at USC and brings writers together from many different disciplinary and professional interests.

Notices & Updates

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Receive Email Updates
 

* Asterisk in guide title indicates core subject guide