Skip to main content

History, British *: Relevant Websites

British History Websites

The British Library
Provides access to digitized collections including thousands of images.

British Pathé
Includes more than 3,000 (filmed) news features from 1896 to 1970.

Darwin Online
"Collection of Darwin's writings including correspondence, books and articles."

HISTIPOP
"Historical population (statistical census) reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937."

John Bull and Uncle Sam: Four Centuries of British-American Relations
"Exhibit by the Library of Congress and British Library 'to illuminate the interwoven history of the two nations from the earliest British settlement in Virginia to the present, the exhibition examines exploration and settlement; war, both as enemies and allies; language and literature; science and technology; reform movements; and popular culture.'"

Medieval English Towns
"The aim of this site is to provide historical information about cities and towns in England during the Middle Ages, with particular emphasis on medieval boroughs of East Anglia and on social, political and constitutional history. A selection of primary documents (translated into English) revelant to English urban history is included."

Parker Library on the Web 
Matthew Parker (1504-75) was an important figure of the English Reformation who was largely responsible for the establishment of the Church of England as a national institution. Parker's library of manuscripts and early printed books are held at Corpus Christi College. This online collection is a joint undertaking between Corpus Christi College, Stanford University Libraries and Cambridge University Library, to produce a digital copies of every of most of Parker’s manuscripts.

Parliament and the British Slave Trade: 1600-1807
The Act of Parliament to abolish the British Slave Trade, passed on March 25, 1807. In 2007, to mark the bicentenary, the Parliamentary Archives digitized material that provides evidence of the issues, processes and people at the heart of Parliament's relationship with the slave trade.

PASE: Prosopography of Anglo-Saxon England 
A database that provides information relating to all the recorded inhabitants of England from the late sixth to the late eleventh century. "It is based on a systematic examination of the available written sources for the period, including chronicles, saints’ Lives, charters, libri vitae, inscriptions, Domesday Book and coins."

The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
"A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court. "

Tudor History
"This site provides historical narrative, biographies, images and transcripts of selected primary sources dealing with the Tudor period."

VADS: The Online Resource for Visual Arts
"The Visual Arts Data Service provides a portfolio of over 100,000 images in arts, historic photographs and material culture."

The Victorian Web
"The Victorian Web is based in Brown University and serves as an encyclopedia to the period. Also included are links to other sites dealing with the period."

A Vision of Britain Through Time
"The Vision of Britain through Time web site provides a window into the Great Britain Historical GIS... is a description of Britain and its localities, showing how they have changed through the centuries."

Irish History Websites

The 1916 Uprising: Personalities and Perspectives
"Online exhibit from the National Library of Ireland provides over 500 images from the Library's collection of books, newspapers, drawings, and proclamations."

Act of Union Virtual Archive
"Collection of primary source material relevant to the 1801 Act of Union between Ireland and Great Britain includes pamphlets, parliamentary papers, newspaper articles and manuscripts."

Breaking the Silence
"Collection of oral histories of those Irish people who did not emigrate that 'aims to capture living memories of Irish life in the 1940s and 1950s by interviewing those who remained in Ireland in decades when so many were leaving.'"

CAIN: Northern Ireland Conflict
A "web site devoted to providing a wide range of information and source material on the Northern Ireland conflict and politics in the region from 1968 to the present."

CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts
A Free Digital Humanities Resource for Irish history, literature and politics. Texts, both literary and historical, date from the medieval period to the 20th century."

Fenian Brotherhood Collection
The Fenians were established in Ireland and the United States in 1858 with the purpose of overthrowing British rule in Ireland and establishing an Irish Republic. This collection from the American Catholic History Research Center and University Archives contains letters, pamphlets, newspapers and other material from the American branch."

Irish History Online: A Bibliography of Irish History
"...is an authoritative guide (in progress) to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present. It currently contains approximately 75,000 bibliographic records. [The database]
includes bibliographic information on books and pamphlets, articles from journals published in Ireland or internationally, and chapters from books of essays, including Festschriften and conference proceedings."

Irish Views of the Famine
"Newspaper and personal diary accounts."

National Library of Ireland  

Views of the Famine
"Transcriptions of Irish and British newspaper coverage of the famine."