Last Updated: Nov 18, 2013
The Science & Engineering Library is open:
- 8 am - 10 pm (Mon-Thur)
- 8 am - 5 pm (Fri)
- 9 am - 5 pm (Sat)
- 12 noon - 8 pm (Sun)
In-person reference assistance is available Monday - Thursday, from 1 pm - 4 pm.
Links to other research guides:
These are the primary databases to use in biomedical engineering fields, the first places you should look.
- Biosis Citation Index
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Access content from journals, meetings, patents, and books. Search precisely with BCI indexing and enhanced MeSH terms. Backfiles available to 1926.
- Medline (OVID)
This is the most complete access to the Medline database and other databases from the National Library of Medicine
Access information in health science and medical fields from MEDLINE, and PreMEDLINE; from 1950 to present. This link to PubMed includes access to USC paid for resources.
- Engineering Village 2
Simultaneous searching with links to fulltext sources (if those sources are available) for Compendex and Inspec
- Xplore (IEEE Electronic Library)
Full text IEEE publications (journals and conference proceedings) and over 900 IEEE standards; from 1988 to present (some content back to 1950's). Contains the IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering as well as the IEEE Reviews in Biomedical Engineering.
- Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)
Provides Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports, and Essential Science Indicators databases. Searches citations in major journals across scientific disciplines. Tracks the number of times articles and authors are cited by others.
These resources are best used when you're looking for information with a more general perspective of developments in biomedical engineering, particularly those articles written for public interest.