Academic Video Online: Premium is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department allowing students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
Series 1 includes over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820
Series 2 includes over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837
Series 3 includes over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852
Series 4 includes over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865
Series 5 includes over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis.
It provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives.
Open access database of scholarly peer reviewed journals published in Central American countries, covering a full range of academic disciplines. Searchable and browsable, the 33 journals contain ca. 2,300 articles in fulltext. Most in Spanish.
Comprised of over 110,000 pages, this database focuses on the Civil War as it was fought from 1861 to 1865 and represents both Northern and Southern perspectives.
It Includes a variety of primary source documents, such as, letters, diaries, administrative records, photographs, illustrations, artifacts, scrapbook journals, family portraits, and maps featuring hand-colored details of troop movements and local landmarks.
Includes a wide range of primary source material related to the international history of law and society, including: trial transcripts, case notes, police and forensic reports, detective novels, newspaper accounts, broadsides, photographs true crime literature, and related ephemera.
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive is a data set comprised of more than 200 years of annual data from 1815 onward for over 200 countries. Its 196 variables are used by academia, government, finance and media.
The Database of Latin Dictionaries is a project that has been in development for many years by the Centre ‘Traditio Litterarum Occidentalium’ (CTLO).
The database will continue to grow gradually and will comprise three kinds of dictionaries: 1. Dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages; 2. Dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words; 3. Historical Latin dictionaries.
The Digitalia Film Library consists of a multilingual, multinational streaming video collection of ca. 800 feature films and documentaries, the majority in Spanish and Portuguese with English subtitles, from Spain, other European countries, U.S., and Latin America (especially Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil). Public Performance Rights apply to all films in their collection.
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900) is the first full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script.
Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world.
Features the John Larpent Archival Collection from the Huntington Library which includes over 2,500 digital facsimile of almost every play submitted for license in England between 1737 and 1824. .
John Larpent was the English Inspector of Plays from 1778-1824 and responsible for executing the Licensing Act of 1737, a landmark act of censorship which required Lord Chamberlain’s Office to approve any play before it was staged. In addition, this online collection of primary sources also includes: diaries of Larpent’s wife and professional collaborator Anna, hundreds of related documents including playbills, theatre records and correspondence and much more
The collection addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power.
Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia.
A collection over 800,000 pages of from 1,500 historical directories, member lists, travel guides, and other name-sources from the New-York Historical Society. These primary sources chronicle the people and organizations as they developed over time and place.
Provides access to an extensive collection of primary source documents--including songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera--that reflect the social and cultural politics of the late 19th century. In addition there are video interviews with scholars and topical critical essays covering such themes as race, labor, immigration, commerce, western expansion, and women’s suffrage.
This collection documents the growth of tourism from the mid-1800s through to the 1980s.
Covers destinations in Britain, the United States and Europe with speical attention to seaside resorts, cultural tours and National Parks. Also documents the growth of travel agencies along with the importance of transport networks for tourism development. Primary sources include: brochures, guidebooks, photo albums, tourist ephemera, printed books, travel agency records, handwritten journals, government correspondence promoting tourism after the Second World War and periodicals such as Cook’s Excursionist (1851-1902). In addition there are numerous audiovisual materials including promotional films from Thomas Cook, the Camping and Caravanning Club and Lunn Poly.
Enhance technical communication skills when speaking, reading, and writing English. IEEE, in partnership with Cambridge University Press, has developed a program of online English communication instruction for engineers and other technical professionals.
This series serves as a supplement to the Library of Latin Texts, which, from 2009 on, is known as the Library of Latin Texts – Series A (LLT-A).
The Library of Latin Texts – Series B gathers Latin texts of all genres and all periods. The data are therefore very di verse, and include genres as varied as chronicles, medieval saints’ lives and travel narratives, legal texts, and theologi cal, philosophical and scientific treatises from the early-modern period. Above all, the emphasis is on the online availability of large corpora of texts.
The Loeb Classical Library is fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.
Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available.
The Marks Project is a no-fee research hub of American Studio Ceramics and a free marks registry for contemporary American ceramic artists.
This on-line, searchable database, records maker’s marks, backstamps, chops, signatures, etc. and the works made by ceramic artists working during the period 1946-present. A successful search results in an artist page featuring images of typical marks, representative work and biographical information. When available artist pages also include CVs, links to works in public collections, bibliographic references and a link to the artist’s website. In addition to artist name and keyword search, visitors to the site can search by artist index, mark characteristics, signature or browse an alphabetical gallery of marks and signatures.
The Mesoamerican Ethnobotanical database is a collaborative ethnobotanical and archaeobotanical project between The Searle Herbarium of the Field Museum of Natural History (FMNH) and the Department of Anthropology at Northeastern Illinois University (NEIU).
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive comprises archival runs of 15 major 20th/21st-century consumer magazines covering such topics as the history of politics, current events, public policy, and international relations.
Each title has a deep backfile, with the earliest content dating from 1918. Central to this collection is the archive of Newsweek, one of the 20th century’s most influential, highest circulating magazines. On completion the collection will offer approximately 700,000 pages, scanned in full color.
Oxford Clinical Psychology provides full-text access to over 200 titles in Oxford's global clinical psychology publishing program in an integrated online service covering a broad range of specialty areas, disorders, and treatment modalities.
The Patrologia Orientalis Database (POD) is a collection of pa-tristic texts from the Christian East, including works, recorded in non-Latin languages, that come from geographical, cultural, or religious contexts somehow linked to Rome or the Eastern Roman Empire.
PrivCo is the premiere source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. You must create an account (USC e-mail address) to login.
Contains approximately 7,000 interrogations of members of the crew of ships taken during the American Revolutionary War and Fourth Anglo-Dutch War (ca. 1775-1784). It shows images of each interrogation (of two, three, sometimes even six or more pages). Answers to the fourteen most researched questions are transcribed and stored in a searchable database.
This module consists of records of the FBI and the Subversive Activities Control Board from 1945-1972.
Highlights of this module include J. Edgar Hoover's office files; documentation on the FBI's so-called "black bag jobs," as they were called before being renamed "surreptitious entries"; and the "Do Not File" File. The "Do Not File" file consists of records that were originally supposed to be destroyed on FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover's order, however, through both intended and inadvertent exceptions to this order, large portions of these files survived. Another key collection in this module consists of the records of the Subversive Activities Control Board (SACB). The SACB files constitute one of the most valuable resources for the study of left-wing radicalism during the 1950s and 1960s.
Orderly Books were the controlling document of day-to-day life in the military, most notably during the Revolutionary War.
These are handwritten volumes documenting military orders, movements and engagements by brigade, regiment, company and other specific military units between 1748 and 1817. The content in Orderly Books provides detailed accounts of troops’ daily lives, documenting everything from court martial cases to the price of necessities charged by locals.
This collection of over 130 hours of video draws upon a vast network of SAGE’s authors and editors. It includes many tutorials, interviews, and demonstrations, along with many more films addressing practitioner issues.
The SIPRI Yearbook provides an overview of developments in international security, weapons and technology, military expenditure, the arms trade and arms production, and armed conflicts, along with efforts to control conventional, nuclear, chemical and biological weapons.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century.
Volume I: Christianity includes the complete 17-volume German edition of Dietrich Bonhoeffer Werke (DBW) and 16 volumes of the English edition of the Dietrich Bonhoeffer Works Series (DBWE); an international selection of English-language editions of key authors such as Hans Urs von Baltasar, Rudolf Bultmann, James Cone, Gustavo Gutiérrez, Adolf von Harnack, Henri de Lubac, Wolfhart Pannenberg, Rosemary Radford Ruether, Dorothee Sölle, and Ernst Troeltsch; and a selection of the papers of Reinhold Niebuhr.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Islam focuses on modern Islamic theology and tradition and details Islam’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents by Muslim writers, both non-Western and Western voices.
It includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Sadiq Jalal Al-Azm, Khaled Abou el Fadl, Fethullah Gülen, Sayyid Ahmad Khan, Said Nursî, Tariq Ramadan, Abdolkarim Soroush, Muhammad Tahir-ul-Qadri, and Amina Wadud; writings in Arabic by Muhammad Abduh and in French by Abdou Filali-Ansary, and a selection of more contextual monographs. Future releases will introduce more works by significant thinkers and archival content.
This collection of over 4,000 formerly classified U.S. government documents provides a comprehensive survey of the U.S. intelligence community’s activities in Europe, including Eastern Europe, Turkey and Cyprus, covering the time period from the end of World War II to the fall of the Iron Curtain and beyond.
The UN iLibrary is the first comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations.
It provides a single digital destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat and its funds and programs. Every year around 500 new titles are planned to be added to the database. Approximately 70% of which are in English and cover a variety of subjects.” Some of the topics are drugs, crime and terrorism, environment and climate change, human rights and refugees, migration, public health, and women and gender issues to name just a few.
Veoeduca offered by USC is a collection of Spanish language streaming videos created by EGEDA (Entidad de Gestión de Derechos de los Productores Audiovisuales), a non-profit organization, authorized by Spain's ministry of culture, with offices in Spain and Los Angeles. Currently the collection includes about 400 titles, many with subtitles in English, from Spain and Latin America.
Includes a diverse range of primary source material that documents the planning of fairs, the experience of visiting them and the physical, cultural and political legacies they leave behind.
With content from hosting and participating countries from every continent, imperial history, race and national identity are key themes. World’s fairs mark some of the earliest examples of mass events where millions attended and were entertained by performances, exhibits and rides that went on to shape popular culture.