Find the best library databases for your research.
Having problems accessing resources?
Report a problem
Loading...

Quicklinks


New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Airiti Library: Journals & Theses provides full-text access to academic journals, theses and dissertations from Taiwan (mostly), mainland China, Hong Kong, Malaysia and other countries in all disciplines.
Trial
Trial access expires on 12/31/2017
Trial
Trial access expires on 11/30/2017
Includes trial access to the following databases

• China Doctoral Dissertations Full-text Database 中国博士学位论文全文数据库
• China Masters' Theses Full-text Database 中国优秀硕士学位论文全文数据库
• China Core Newspapers Database 中国重要报纸全文数据库
• China Yearbooks Full-text Database 中国年鉴网络出版总库
• China Reference Works Online 中国工具书网络出版总库
• China Statistic Yearbooks Full-text Database中国统计年鉴数据库
• China Government Gazettes Full-text Database中国政报公报期刊文献总库
New
Local gazetteers are regarded by scholars and historians in the China field as one of the most important primary sources for the study of history of Chinese economy, politics, culture, military, and science and technology. This database includes a large collection of post-1949 local gazetteers covering all regions of mainland China and various subject areas.
New
Known as Chinese Google Scholar, Duxiu provides access to a huge amount of full-text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, such as books, theses, journal articles, conference papers, etc.
New
Education Week is a weekly newspaper devoted to news, information, and analysis on American precollegiate (elementary and secondary) education.
Trial
EPS China Statistics provides series statistical data on China. As of March 2017, the EPS Data Platform includes 41 China databases sourced from industrial, regional and national organizations, covering various subjects/industries/fields and all regions of China. It has both English and Chinese versions, and contains over 1.2 million basic and combined statistical indicators in time series with a yearly increment of more than 30 million numeric data.
Trial access expires on 12/16/2017
New
Begun in 1979, the Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies is a collection of 4,400 video testimonies with Holocaust survivors and witnesses recorded as a result of 37 affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel. Instructions for access can be found here: http://web.library.yale.edu/testimonies/research/findandrequest

Note: USC access to the Archive is restricted to USC library computers only.
New
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.

Coverage: 1980 - current
Trial
Trial access expires on 11/25/2017
Global Times is a daily newspaper focusing on international relations and foreign affairs. It is an essential indicator of Chinese foreign policies.
New
The database features thousands of analyst reports covering over 3,000 global companies and all industries. Derived from Morgan Markets – which is J.P. Morgan’s exclusive information for key clients and investors – these reports are made available to academic users for education and research purposes. Coverage is 2011 to current with a one week embargo.
Trial
Trial access expires on 12/31/2017
Developed by the Shanghai Library, Late Qing/Republican Periodicals Database provides full-text access to thousands of periodicals and magazines published in China from 1833 to 1949.

Only 1 user is allowed to access the database at one time.
New
Strives to provide wide coverage in English of news by Latin American media within 19 countries of that region, in Spanish or Portuguese. Offers 41 weekly issues and expanded monthly issues in July and December. English summaries have links to original articles. Subjects include arts and culture, economy, environment, society, inter-American and international relations, politics, travel, and war, drugs, violence, and a section on classroom use.
New
The Stationers’ Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding.
New
New
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
New
This collection provides documentation on the almost continual political instability in Nicaragua through the State Department's internal documentation, as well as correspondence between the Department and other federal departments and agencies, Congress, and private individuals and organizations; telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence. Date Range: 1910-1933.
New
Women's Drama brings together more than 1,500 plays by more than 300 playwrights, along with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Trial
Trial access expires on 11/25/2017
People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It has been the official voice of the Chinese government and the Communist Party of China since 1946.
New
The U.S. State Department Central Files are an important source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the 20th century. Countries covered in this module include China, Far East (general), Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Philippine Republic, and Vietnam.
New
This module offers extensive documentation on the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) during World War I as well as materials on U.S. intelligence operations and the post-war peace process. AEF documents consist of correspondence, cablegrams, operations reports, statistical strength reports and summaries of intelligence detailing troop movements and operations of Allied and enemy forces. The vast majority of the AEF documents date from April 26, 1917-July 2, 1919.
New
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.
New
This database, and its collective online catalog CER.ES, brings together information and images from the collections of more than 100 participating museums in Spain. Searchable by subject, museum type and location. Basic and advanced searching available.
New
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. Coverage: 1845 - 2015.
New
This collection sheds detail to both the political and financial machinations of the fruit companies, but also the graft and corruption of the national government, the American banking community’s loans, the U.S. government’s response and the various aborted popular/revolutionary uprisings. Date Range: 1910-1930.
New
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text includes approximately one million pages of full-text content from more than 200 periodicals (many of which are not available anywhere else online) from 50 countries in 40 languages, published from the early 20th century to the present. Most coverage commences with the first issue of the journal and includes cover-to-cover full text for every included title. Therefore, in addition to scholarly articles and reviews, the database includes obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, news items, and more.
New
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
New
The Daily Telegraph was launched in 1855, and within 10 years was able to claim it had 'the largest circulation in the world', boasting world-famous writers such as George Augustus Sala. For more than 150 years it has shaped and recorded the history and democratic values of the United Kingdom. The Sunday Telegraph was launched as a sister paper in 1961, and The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 provides users with access to both the daily and Sunday editions.
New
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published weekly by Time Inc., the magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects.
New
This resource presents a wealth of highly illustrated primary source documents that highlight commercial tastes and consumer trends in America between 1850-1950.
New
The complete run of Vogue Italia – one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue – from its launch in 1964 to the present. Recognized as the least commercial and most artistic edition, it has a tradition of innovation and bold treatment of current issues and events.
Trial
Trial access expires on 12/31/2017
To access the database, please click the link “click to enter” on the homepage, then click “文史资料‘’ under “superstar specialty” section, and then you will then be able to browse and search the wenshi ziliao collection.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...