University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

Research Guide: Sources in Architectural History 

This is a guide to selected reference sources in the field of architecture and its history located in the USC Architecture and Fine Arts Library (AFA). There are many additional excellent sources not listed here.
Last update: Oct 09th, 2008 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/architecture_history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias             Print Page
  
 

Advanced HOMER Search

 
 

Select Sources

Ching, Frank D. K., Mark M. Jarzombek, Vikramaditya Prakash.  A Global History of Architecture. Hoboken, N.J.: J. Wiley & Sons, c2007. 

LOCATION: AFA [Circulation Desk]  NA 200.C493 2007

Covers the history of architecture in a globalized context from 3500 BCE into the late 20th century.

 

Dictionnaire de l'architecture du XXe siecle. [Paris]: Institut francais d'architecture, 1996.

LOCATION: AFA [Reference] NA680 .D49 1996

 

Dizionario dell'architettura del XX secolo. 6 vols.  Torino: U. Allemandi, 2000.

LOCATION: AFA [Reference] NA680.D543 2000

 

Encyclopedia of Architecture, Design, Engineering and Construction. 5 vols. New York: Wiley, 1988

LOCATION: AFA [Reference] NA31.E59 1988

The target audience of this encyclopedia is the professional in the fields of architecture, engineering, and construction. Covers architecture and engineering from the standpoints of design, education, regulation, as well ass the construction industry, law, and economic considerations. Articles are written by professionals and include bibliographies. Includes a subject and name index.

 

Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture. 3 vols. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004.

LOCATION: AFA [Reference] NA68.E495 2004

Covers architecture and urban planning of the 20th century. Presented in three different categories of subject matter: 1) biographies of architects and urban planners; 2) surveys of architectural developments in specific countries; 3) overviews of movements, groups, and stylistic trends. Each entry is initialed by the author and includes bibliographic citations.

 

Encyclopedia of the Vernacular Architecture of the World.  3 vols. Cambridge:  Cambridge University Press, 1997.

LOCATION: AFA [Reference] NA208.E53 1997

 

The Encyclopaedic Dictionary in the Eighteenth Century: Architecture, Arts, and Crafts. 5 vols. Aldershot, England: Ashgate, 1997.

LOCATION: AFA [Reference] NA2540.E37 1997

 

Fleming, John, Hugh Honour and Nikolaus Pevsner.  The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture.  5th ed.  London:  Penguin Books, 1998.

LOCATION: AFA [Reference] NA31.F55 1998x

 

Fletcher, Banister, Sir. A History of Architecture. 19th ed. London: Butterworths, 1987.

LOCATION: AFA [Reference] NA200.F63 1987

A detailed comprehensive resource in the history of architecture from ancient times to the present. Divided into chapters by period and culture. Contains detailed line drawings, photographs, plans, elevations, sections, and other details (to scale) of major monuments. Bibliographies on each period are provided at the end of each chapter.

 

Harris, Cyril M. American Architecture: An Illustrated Encyclopedia.  New York: W. W. Norton, 1998.

LOCATION: AFA [Reference] NA705.H36 1998

Contains definitions and detailed line drawn illustrations of architectural monuments, styles, terms and details. Covers all historical periods (5,000 years). Includes Chinese, Japanese, Indian and Islamic architecture as well ass all periods and styles in Western architecture.

 

Kostof, Spiro. A History of Architecture: Settings and Rituals. 2nd edition.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.

LOCATION: AFA [Reference] NA200.K65 1995

A general survey of the history of architecture and the build environment from pre-history to the present. Divided into chapters by period and culture. The author integrates city and urban planning and development into his discussions of periods and cultures. Includes plans (to scale) of major monuments and urban plans.

 

Sharp, Dennis. Twentieth Century Architecture: A Visual History. Mulgrave, Victoria:  Image Publishing, 2002.

LOCATION: AFA [Reference] NA680.S527 2002

A survey of twentieth century architecture. Describes in narrative form the major monuments of modern architecture by year within their context of artistic movement and style. Each building chosen includes photographs, plans and elevations. Also included are a chronology of buildings and an index by architect and building name.

 

Wodehouse, Lawrence. A History of Western Architecture. Mountain View, Calif.: Mayfield, 1989.

        LOCATION: AFA [Reference] NA200.W64 1989      

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait