- Norman Mailer papers
Contains speeches, correspondence, tape recordings, drafts and galleys connected with Mailer's campaign for mayor of New York City in 1960.
- Willard Morse Collection on Sinclair Lewis
Contains book reviews and periodical appearances (originals or photostats), and an extensive typewritten bibliography on Lewis (1885-1951), author and novelist, who was the first American to win the Nobel Prize for Literature.
- Willard Morse Collection on Vincent Starrett
Contains book reviews and periodical appearances (originals or photostats), and an extensive typewritten bibliography on Starrett (1886-1974), the author of mysteries and horror stories of the "Chicago Renaissance."
- Robert Lowry papers
Contains typescripts and galleys of various books by American journalist, editor, and novelist Robert Lowry (1919-1994).
- Jack Hirschman papers
Contains manuscripts of Hirschman's Requiem and Hunger, typescript translations of Russian writer Alexander Kohan and Bukowski ephemera.
- Willard Morse Collection on Edgar Lee Masters
Contains book reviews and periodical appearances (originals or photostats), and an extensive typewritten bibliography on Masters (1868-1950), poet and author most widely known for "The Spoon River Anthology."
- Willard Morse Collection on Henry Van Dyke
Contains book reviews and periodical appearances (originals or photostats), and an extensive typewritten bibliography on Van Dyke (1852-1933), minister and author of popular Christmas sermons, essays, and short stories.
- Ray Bradbury papers
Contains signed typescripts of Ray Bradbury's short stories "The Everlasting Clock," "The Man Upstairs," "Powerhouse," and "Skeleton." Also included in the collection are his introduction to Jules Verne's Mysterious Island and six letters from Bradbury to Dorothy Faulkner, dated 1950-1962.
- Anne Hawkins papers
Contains notebooks, galleys, drafts, and outlines for Anne Hawkins’ books about the Pony Express, along with some of her correspondence. Hawkins was a stenographer who lived in Southern California and was the author of Too Like the Lightning, Pony Express and To the Swift.
- Antonio Heras papers
Contains the papers of Antonio Heras, who was a professor of Spanish and Spanish Literature at USC from 1925-1950, including manuscripts and typescripts of his articles and stories, research notes, clippings, correspondence and diaries.
- Aldous Huxley papers
Contains financial records of Aldous Huxley dated 1957-1962.
- Anne Roller Issler papers
Contains typescripts for Anne Roller Issler’s work on Robert Louis Stevenson’s time spent in San Francisco between December 1879 and May 1880. The work, Happier for His Presence: San Francisco and Robert Louis Stevenson, was published by Stanford University Press in 1949.
- Arthur Lerner collection on Poetry Therapy
Contains publications pertaining to poetry therapy collected by Arthur Lerner, as well as a small amount of his correspondence.
- Frederick Shroyer papers
Contains the papers of Frederick Shroyer, who was a professor of English and American Literature at California State University--Los Angeles.
- Irving Shulman papers
Contains the papers of the novelist, screenwriter, and biographer Irving Shulman, including manuscripts and typescripts of screenplays, short stories, novels, and biographies.
- William Van Wyck papers
Contains two scrapbooks, typed poems, correspondence, memoirs, and drafts of published works by William Van Wyck.
- Irving Wallace papers
Contains the papers of the screenwriter and novelist Irving Wallace, including include correspondence, research notes, proofs, and typescripts for some of his stories, screenplays, and novels.
- Watts Writers' Workshop stories, lesson books, and other material
Contains clippings about the workshop and works by Jimmie Sherman, one of the Workshop’s members.
- Leonard Wibberley papers
Contains the papers of the author Leonard Wibberley (1915-1983).
- Kenneth Rexroth papers
Contains the papers of Kenneth Rexroth, American poet and activist, comprise manuscripts, notes, printed material, publications, correspondence, and ephemera related to poetry, writing, speaking engagements, and teaching, primarily from the last decade of his life; also included are correspondence, manuscripts, drawings, photographs, and edits compiled by Geoffrey Gardner for a Kenneth Rexroth festschrift published in 1980.
- Charles Bukowski papers
Contains drafts of Women, Factotum, Ham on Rye, Post Office, and Barfly, screenplays based on Bukowski's (1920-1994) fiction, periodical appearances, tape recordings and ephemera.
- Lawrence Lipton Papers
Contains business files, tax records, and correspondence, typescripts, photographs, clippings, literary journals, tape recorded interviews, readings, and radio programs, and Lipton's (1890-1975) archives for his "Radio Free America" column in the Los Angeles Free Press.
- Stephen Longstreet papers
Contains typescripts, galleys, drawings for published books by Longstreet.
- Lawrence Ferlinghetti Papers
Contains tapes, clippings, periodicals, correspondence of the San Francisco poet and publisher.
- Poets Garden records
Contains publications, letters, diaries, and memorabilia of the literary group created by Los Angeles poet Ruth Le Prade.
- Ruper Hughes papers
Contains archives of the novelist, biographer, screenwriter, and musicologist, including subject files, typescripts, correspondence, published articles, and personal memorabilia.
- Collection of Jack London letters, articles, and typescripts
Contains letters, articles, typescripts of stories written by American author Jack London.
- Carol Muske-Dukes papers
Contains the literary works, academic files, and personal papers of Carol Muske-Dukes, California poet laureate and USC professor of creative writing.
- Poe Society records
Contains reports of meetings, correspondence, articles by members of the Poe Society of Baltimore, ca. 1924-1928.
- Charles Bonner papers
Contains typescripts of Bonner's (1896-1965) novels Legacy (Knopf, 1940), Angel Casey (Knopf, 1941), and Ambition (Coward-McCann, 1946).
- William White collection on John P. Marquand
Contains books, magazine and anthology appearances by novelist John P. Marquand (1893-1960), together with bibliographic notes on Marquand assembled by Prof. William White.
- Paul Bowles papers
Contains correspondence, periodical appearances, tape recordings and a typed draft and galleys for Bowles's autobiography, Without Stopping (Putnam, 1972).
- Tom Clark Papers
Contains drafts and galleys of Writer: A Life of Jack Kerouac and The Exile of Celine, a Kerouac chronology, notes for the 1986 Olson Lectures, holograph notebooks and typescript poems and articles by Clark.
- Craig Rice Papers
Contains personal and business correspondence and typescripts, ca. 1950-55, by Rice (nee Georgiana Ann Randolph).
- Elbert Hubbard Papers
Contains small broadsides, minor publications by "The Roycrofters" and correspondence between Hubbard (1856-1915) and J. E. Woodhead.
- Lionel Menuhin Rolfe Papers
Contains srticles (some photocopied), ca. 1964 - present, on Southern California literature, politics, entertainment, and Jewish subjects, by journalist Lionel Rolfe (b.1942); includes preliminary studies for Rolfe's Literary L.A., research materials, and related materials by writer Nigey Lennon (b. 1954).
- Harriet Howe papers
Contains typescript poetry, scrapbook, story drafts by an active supporter of equal rights for women.
- Joshua Odell collection on Richard Wilber
Collection of books by and about the American poet and Pulitzer Prize winner (1921 - ); includes keepsakes and broadsides.
- Elizabeth Corbett Papers
Contains correspondence between novelist Corbett (b. 1887, Aurora, Ill., d. 1981, New York, NY) and Laura Burmeister; includes typescript poems.
- Collection on Carl Sandburg
Contains articles, clippings, and photographs on the life of the poet and biographer, as well as miscellaneous books by Sandburg (1878-1967).