Of Special Note ...
ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives now part of USC Libraries! This collection, the world's largest research collection for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history, will continue to be accessible at its current location on W. Adams Blvd.
Selected New Acquisitions
- Collections of the United Farm Workers of America (four microfilm collections) Please see links and information on the USC Primary Sources page of this guide, under Microfilm Collections
- Concise Companion to American Studies This essential new resource, edited by John Carlos Rowe, is available in Doheny Library
- Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World History This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century
- Confidential Print, North America This series, issued from the National Archives, Kew (London) provides access to confidential papers issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices from 1924 to 1961 concerning North America, with a focus on Canada, the Caribbean, and the US
- The Nixon Years These papers from the National Archives, Kew (London) allow scholars and researchers the opportunity to assess the Nixon administration from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective
- The Civil War Collection, Accessible Archives Additions are: Part II: the Soldiers’ Perspective; Part III: the Generals’ Perspective; Part IV: a Midwestern Perspective. The Libraries had previously acquired Part I: a Newspaper Perspective.
- American History in Video Provides access to commercial and governmental newsreels, archival and public affairs footage, and documentaries
- Victorian Popular Culture Contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe from 1779 to 1930
- Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels The first-ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s. It also includes interviews, criticism, and journal articles
- LexisNexis Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, 1824-2003 The Library has added Part B, 1980-2003, to its previous holdings. The collection contains the full-text of published and unpublished hearings, oral statements, committee questions and discussion, reports, and more
- CQ Press Political Reference Suite of Online Editions CQ Press publications dating back to 1945, including directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, compendia, and yearbooks on topics such as California politics; US legislative and political history; US Indian policy and law; historic documents; and more
- California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC) This historical newspaper collection, from UC-Riverside’s Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research, provides access to over 200,000 digitized pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1846-1922
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 Thisimportant portal for slavery and abolition studies brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world
Welcome Students and Faculty!
Welcome to the American Studies and Ethnicity Subject Guide!
Browse through the tabs to find books, articles, online resources, primary sources, professional and career resources, and more.
Getting Started: Key databases to use
America: History and Life journal articles, dissertations, book reviews, review articles, and overviews/chronologies
History Cooperative The History Cooperative is a pioneering nonprofit humanities resource provided by the University of Illinois Press, the Organization of American Historians, and JSTOR offering top-level online history scholarship
JSTOR journal articles and book reviews
HOMER USC's library catalog, for books, films, journals, microfilm, and print journals
USC Quick Search New! Use one search box to search a wide range of USC's holdings, including journal articles, books, digital collections, and more
Reference resources for background reading
Concise Companion to American Studies This essential new resource, edited by John Carlos Rowe, is available in Doheny Library
Blackwell Reference Online (most also available in print) This extensive multidisciplinary database includes hundreds of key reference titles, including in History, Race and Ethnicity Studies, Cultural Studies, Environmental Studies, Gender Studies, and Geography. Selected titles of interest include the following; please also consult the History, US and Canada and the American Studies and Ethnicity Guides (see related guides box below for Asian American Studies, African American Studies, and Native American Studies) for more selected titles:
- Companion to African American History (Ed. Alton Hornsby, Jr)
- A Companion to Asian American Studies (Ed. Kent A. Ono)
- A Companion to African-American Studies (Eds. Lewis R. Gordon and Jane Anna Gordon)
- A Companion to Racial and Ethnic Studies (Eds. David Theo Goldberg and John Solomos)
- A Companion to American Immigration (Ed. Reed Ueda)
- A Companion to Latina/o Studies (Eds. Juan Flores and Renato Rosaldo)
- A Companion to Cultural Studies (Ed. Toby Miller)
- A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies (Eds. George E. Haggerty and Molly McGarry)
- A Companion to Gender Studies (Eds. Philomena Essed, David Theo Goldberg and Audrey Kobayashi)
- A Companion to 19th-Century America (Ed. William L. Barney)
- A Companion to 20th-Century America (Ed. Stephen J. Whitfield)
- A Companion to American Indian History (Eds. Philip J. Deloria and Neal Salisbury)
- A Companion to the American West (Ed. William Deverell)
- A Companion to California History (Eds. William Deverell and David Igler)
- A Companion to Los Angeles (Eds. William Deverell and Greg Hise)
Related Research Guides
Here are some selected research guides also of interest to researchers in US and Canadian History:
Los Angeles and Southern California
USC Libraries News
Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |





Loading...


Loading content... please wait
