University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* English Language & Literature 

This guide points researchers to a few key USC Libraries resources that might be helpful to start research projects in the area of literary studies.
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/LIT  Print Guide  RSS Updates

First Steps             Print Page
  
 

Related Guides and Links

MLA Citation Guide

 

Chicago Manual of Style Online

Theater

Nineteenth-Century Literary Studies
This guide focuses on resources for the study of nineteenth century literature, with special emphasis on primary resources. Its origin can be traced to a 2003 research orientation offered to a graduate seminar on 19th-Century British Literature

 

USC Libraries English Language and Literature Page

 
 

Articles: First Steps

USC Libraries Electronic Resources gateway page is good place to start if you need to find articles published in literary studies journals. There are a few particularly useful collections and bibliographies available under the Quick Links menu


Proquest Research Library: Index to scholarly, popular, and newspaper articles, many in full text. Full coverage of Los Angeles Times.  Good source for film reviews, both in popular and scholarly sources

Wilson OmniFile: Index to articles from scholarly and popular sources, early 1980’s-present. Tip: Check box “OmniFile Full Text Mega.” Good source for film reviews, both in popular and scholarly (peer reviewed) sources. 

Wilson: Please note Play Index, Shot Story Index and Readers' Guides.    

 

JSTOR: Multidisciplinary collection of full text scholarly journals. RECOMMENDATION: Advanced search, and select your discipline and/or journal titles to search. NOTE: It is an archive, so please do not expect recent issues of journals in JSTOR.

Project Muse FULL text. 380 high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.

MLA Bibliography: Index to scholarly publications in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals published worldwide.

 

Books: First Steps

For books that USC Libraries own, SEARCH Homer, USC Libraries Online Catalog

For books that USC Libraries might not own, SEARCH WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) , a union catalog of catalogs that allows users to search the collections of most US and Canadian academic libraries.

To recommend a book that USC Libraries should own, please submit your recommendation by clicking the Recommend-A-Book

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSophie Lesinska, Ph.D.


Contact Info:
Office: Doheny Library, 2nd floor, Room 222
Phone: 213-740-7373
lesinska@usc.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Literatures in English

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait