Handouts
Sample search
1. Search multi-sibject resources to start your research
- Use "*" to truncate your keywords and get more results of your keywords;
- Use "AND" to connect your keywords in order to narrow down your search and get what you are looking for;
- Search within "Abstract", which will help you find what you are looking for;
- Always pay attention to "suggested topics" or "subjects", which might give you good search queries;
For instance, "Los Angeles" AND "Riot*" (your topic, e.g. a movement, a figure, an event)
Once you find your topic in a database, you can then refine your topic to your interested aspects (e.g. "race relations", "civil rights")
On the other hand, you can search your interested aspects in a topic database (e.g. CQ) to get an overview of it (e.g. "black" AND "rac*")
2. When you have good ideas about your topic, search subject specialized databases
Resources (Must)
- ProQuest Research Librarymulti-disciplinary index for multi-subject (newspaper, scholarly information); full-text available for some articles; citation is provided
- CQ Librarybackground information of your research assignment (topic review report); full-text is available; Citation of reference is provided
- America: History and LifeThe definitive index of articles and other literature covering the history and culture of the US and Canada, from the 15th century to the present; Full-text depending on subscription; citation is provided
- EBSCOhostPlease check these databases or any databases good for your topic:
1. America: History & Life
2. Bibliography of Native North Americans
3. Historical Abstracts
4. Social Work Abstracts - Wilson OmniFile2 individual full-text databases: Social Sciences, and Omni Full-text (please check them before searching). Good for scholarly information
Scholarly Research Guides
About AMST 252
This course examines black social movements for freedom, justice, equality, and self determination. Beginning with Reconstruction, movements include labor, civil rights, radical feminism, socialism, reparations, Black Nationalism, prisoners' rights, and Hip Hop.
Your Information Concierge |
Contact Info Office: 102 SSL (beside the 1st floor photocopier) Phone: 213-740-5775 blea@usc.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
