Handouts
Comments (0)
Sample search
1. Search multi-sibject resources to start your research
- Use "*" to truncate your keywords and get more results of your keywords;
- Use "AND" to connect your keywords in order to narrow down your search and get what you are looking for;
- Search within "Abstract", which will help you find what you are looking for;
- Always pay attention to "suggested topics" or "subjects", which might give you good search queries;
For instance, "Los Angeles" AND "Natural Disaster*"
"Los Angeles" AND "school fund*"
2. When you have good ideas about your topic, search subject specialized databases (if you need help, please contact Sue or me)
Statistics
Please kindly contact our data information librarian for more information
Katharin Peter
VKC Library, B40a
213.740.1700
kpeter@usc.edu
- Data Research ResourcesAll resources in finding Data
- California & LA datasearch data in CA and LA
- United States
- LexisNexis Statistical UniverseFor facts and data of LA
LexisNexis Statistical Universe allows users to search abstracts and tables within statistical publications of federal, state, and intergovernmental agencies and organizations and provides direct access to the full-text tables. [Note: As many government publications are updated annually, be sure to check that your table is from the most current edition.] - American FactFinderFor facts of LA (e.g. population)
Also available on the U.S. Census Bureau website, American FactFinder is an interactive database that provides access to Census statistics about population, housing, industry, and business. Use the "fact sheet" search box to get quick statistics on a city, state or the entire United States or explore the "Get Detailed Data" section for more detailed statistics.
Scholarly Research Guides
Please kindly contact subject librarian, Sue Tyson, for more related information
Sue Tyson
213-740-7044
styson@usc.edu
Resources (Must)
- ProQuest Research Librarymulti-disciplinary index for multi-subject (newspaper, scholarly information)
To find old newspaper articles in LA Times, please
1. get into the Proquest
2. go to "Select multiple databases"
3. "Clear all databases", then go down to the list and find "ProQuest Historical Newspapers Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1986) (ID 14075)"
4. Select this database and click "Continue" (a bright yellow botton)
5. Now you can search for old newspaper articles in LA times - Wilson OmniFile6 individual full-text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers’ Guide, Social Sciences, and Wilson Business (please check them before searching). Good for scholarly information
Your Information Concierge |
Contact Info Office: 102 SSL (beside the 1st floor photocopier) Phone: 213-740-5775 blea@usc.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
